Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken window and squeakey bed

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for three very,very hot days. No aircon plus only small upper window opened, main window lock was broken and was informed that Mick did not know when it would be fixed, but not any time soon so I sweltered in a small single room & had to have my door opened all the time just to get some air. Single bed was not comfortable and mattress squeaked. Best points are location and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good host, friendly and informative

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Overall nice B&B, would recommend. No more to add!
4 out of 5
by Godfrey from North Somerset

July 2016

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 night stay was very enjoyable. The hotel breakfast had extensive choice very good scrambled eggs. The room was comfortable but the bathroom needed attention. Personal, but I do not like carpet in a bathroom and would prefer a washable floor also for a 4star should be a shower cubicle not a curtain. The owners were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our break.
4 out of 5
by Veatrice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Dated with a touch of Basil Fawlty!

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: A good de clutter and deep clean BETTER mattress and pillows a WiFi system that works, and better manners for the proprietor!
It wasn't the cluttered 80's décor [personal choice but makes cleaning hard] the VERY uncomfortable beds [hardly slept] the poor WiFi even sat on top of the WiFi extender in the hall way still no or very poor signal. Or the fact in the virtually empty dining room at breakfast we were asked to move to another table. The worse thing ....... The attitude of the proprietor!! As it was raining when we arrived and our son was asleep we left him and our adult daughter in the car whilst we checked in, no point of us all cluttering up the hallway and we were going straight out as soon as we dropped our luggage off. This innocent action caused repercussions the following day after we were checking out, the proprietor Mick accused us of hiding the children in the car as a means of hoodwinking them as to their ages. We had booked a family room which allowed 3 adults and one child to stay in the room, done through Expedia. I did not falsify anything [see photo] Mike then went on to say 'It's not about the money' obviously it is or he'd wouldn't have said this, he claimed it was to do with insurance. Told him we had booked through Expedia and gave them to correct details, so Mike then proceeded to pretend to bang his head against the door, saying Expedia did not pass on information to them. I'm sorry this isn't our problem! Maybe if Mike had given the correct information to Expedia in the first place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Had a 3 day break. Made us very welcome. Plan to visit the Isle of Wight again next year and will be booking to stay again at St George's without dought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel near town of shanklin.

Posted Sep 29, 2015
very nice hotel.mick a very nice and friendly person ,makes you very welcome. good choice of breakfast.good evening places to eat nearby.
1 out of 5
by Mr Pankaj from Woking

Not at all for families with kids

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is not at all recommended with families with small children. Hotel staff is not friendly and i even found rude at times to the kids. I would have rather being told upfront "not for families with kids".
4 out of 5
by valerie from Dorset

relaxing break

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
hotel very good standard of cleanliness,comfort,and friendly,with a good breakfast menu, very organized dining giving the best in cooked breakfast food -one of the best cooked breakfasts we have had in lots years of travelling-thank-you Mike&Jan.
5 out of 5
by mr f j

St George's and the Isle of Wight is a winner!

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect holiday - perfect weather - perfect food - perfect hotel. Our host Mick and his wife did us proud. breakfasts were great and always served with a smile; room was very comfortable and spacious; the en suite shower and toilet facilities were first class and our entire stay was extremely good value for money.