Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Modern, comfortable & friendly

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Super friendly and helpful hosts. Modern rooms yet still with cosy style.
Location: Don't think you need to stay in Cowes or Newport to explore the IoW - nothing is too far away. Plenty of eating options in old town or down by water.
Great stay, from the big rooms, comfortable bed and quiet to the plentiful breakfast options. Easy parking out the front. And the Rock Shop (lollies and sweets) is just down the street on the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ferndown, Dorset

Lovely guest house close to Shanklin old village

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Size. Cleanliness. Breakfasts. No children.
Cons: Bed was a bit creaky.
Friendly, welcoming and attentive hosts. Location was excellent, being very close to the old village but in a quiet side street. The Birkdale was one of the cleanest B&Bs/Hotels we have stayed in. Our room was clean, well presented, larger than average and stocked with everything that we could need. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and there was plenty of choice with accompaniments. We wouldn’t hesitate to return to this guest house and would also recommend it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

quiet hotel close to town centre

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: 2mins from pubs restaurants and shops ten minutes from beech and local tourist attraction, chine.
Cons: perhaps parking
Location: There were a number of different restaurants and pubs, a theatre, a lift to the beech about twenty five minutes from Fishguard ferry
Very nice quiet guest house lovely breakfasts charming owners close to all amenities small, 7 rooms, but very clean.
5 out of 5
by Alan

great Breckfast

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Superb breakfast, and a great location close to Shanklin old village, and high street.
5 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul

fantastic

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing, the owners bill and Jackie were outstanding in their service, made our stay wonderful. Thankyou.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham England

Lovely hotel close to amenities

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is the 2nd time we stayed here and love it. It's run by a couple who go out of their way to make ur stay pleasurable. We are already planning to come back next year. Even if ur visiting the other half of island u can stay here as it's a short drive. Lovely rooms, fantastic breakfasts. I suggest u diet before u go as u will eat so much !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex UK

Welcoming hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Immaculate hotel. Excellent breakfast. Lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Lovely guest house. Located in the old town of Shanklin near all of the old thatched cottages. Very friendly, helpful hosts. Super clean and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Excellent accommodation, very friendly owners.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Just come back from the Birkdale and had a fantastic stay. Very accommodating owners and allowed us to leave our bags there to go on our last day before our train. We stayed in the superior room with bath. Room was very clean and a great space, the bathroom was immaculate with toiletries provided. Room was serviced everyday that we were there. Breakfast was excellent, such a wide range of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and that's before the cooked breakfast. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the Old Shanklin Village as it is just a short walk to the village and there are lots of places to eat locally.