Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Hotel Grand Sharm Resort, Om El Seid Hill

Posted Apr 23, 2010 on Hotels
Vi var kun på B&B, så vi kan ikke si noe om hvordan det er å være All Inklusive-gjest, men ut fra hva vi kunne se under vårt 3 ukers opphold virket det som om AI-folket hadde det bra. Hotellet har tidligere fått mye dårlig omtale på forskjellige reiseforum (f.eks. TripAdvisor), men anmeldelser som er skrevet før sommeren 2008 er det bare å se bort fra. Hotellet har nå ny ledelse, nye ansatte og ny profil, og jobber hele tiden med å forbedre seg. Frokosten er veldig bra, med godt utvalg av varm og kald mat. Hvis man vil ha omelett eller pannekaker, så stekes dette mens man står og ser på. Pizza i baren ved det gamle bassenget (det store) er helt topp. Både frokost-teamet og alle som jobber i de to bassengbarene er knallhyggelige folk. Det er også resten av de ansatte; samtlige er blide og svært serviceinnstilte. Hotellområdet er pent beplantet, og fremstår som en blomsterfylt liten oase. Bygningene er helt OK, litt slitt her og der, men ikke noe verre enn at det må ansees som unødvendig pirkete hvis man lar seg irritere over dette. Rommet ble vasket daglig, og ellers var renholdet på området helt tilfredsstillende. Håndklær ble skiftet daglig, og sengetøy ble stort sett skiftet med 3-5 dagers mellomrom. Siden vi i hovedsak var i Sharm for å nyte havet og varmen sto vi hver dag opp med sola og la oss tidlig, så vi sjekket aldri ut verken hotelldisco eller hotellmiddag. Hvis man vil på organiserte turer i løpet av ferien; styr for all del unna turene som tilbys av de som går rundt inne på hotellområdet! De booker turer med turoperatører som i beste fall kan sies å være komplette amatører og helt kunnskapsløse om området/naturen (f.eks. Sissi Travel som ligger rett over gata for hotellet). Vi ble med på en biltur til Ras Mohammed nasjonalpark for å få sett området fra land, og det var bare tull. Selv om vi langtfra hadde lest mye om nasjonalparken på forhånd kunne vi mye mer om området og naturen enn guiden, men det verste av alt var kanskje at mye av infoen guiden kom med var direkte feil. Hotellet har egen taxiservice, og skal man på tur på landjorda kan vi på det varmeste anbefale å booke tur med Kamal, som kjører hotelltaxi. Han er knallhyggelig, kunnskapsrik, og ikke minst konkurransedyktig på pris. En Kairotur for to personer med han blir selvfølgelig litt dyrere enn en organisert busstur, men man har da luksusen av å kjøre egen bil med aircondition, slik at man kan stoppe hvor man vil for å ta bilder, handle, gå på do etc. Vi var med Kamal på dagstur til Katarina-klosteret, etterfulgt av tur til Dahab og snorkling i The Blue Hole, en tur som var helt topp. Kamal sitter som oftest ved inngangsporten sammen med security-folkene og de andre hotellsjåførene, hvis han ikke er ute og kjører. Vår erfaring med de to andre hotellsjåførene som jobbet der samtidig som vi bodde på hotellet var ikke fullt så bra, så bruk Kamal hvis han er tilstede! Det går gratis busser tur-retur til hotellstranda. Stranda (12-15 minutter å gå fra hotellet) egner seg best for de med litt eldre barn, siden dette er en "korall-strand". Her må man ut på jettyen for å komme seg over revplatået og ut til dypt vann. Snorkling her er veldig bra; vi så både rokker, dragefisk, murene på over 2 meter og en havskilpadde, i tillegg til all annen fisk, koraller etc. Alt i alt syntes vi at hotellet er et meget godt alternativ i sin prisklasse. Etter tre uker har vi egentlig ingen ting å klage på, snarere tvert imot. Som B&B-alternativ for de som er i Sharm for å oppleve havet og naturen, i stedet for å kun ligge ved hotellbassenget, er dette et svært godt valg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Wouldn't stay here again.

Posted Mar 10, 2010
The room was dusty every where. The bathroom had dirt and hair on the floor. You had to jimmy the card slot to get the electrical power to come on. The only good thing about this hotel was the location and the breakfast. I would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Rude & Incompetent service- nice building

Posted Jan 12, 2010 on Hotels
I was visiting Sharm Al-Shaykh to get a “resort experience” while traveling the Middle East. I booked a room at the Grand Sharm Resort because it was a resort, it was in a good location, and the price looked affordable. Upon arriving at the hotel – I was happy to see that the hotel looked beautiful from the outside. This is when things took a turn for the worse. I greeted the receptionist and handed him my passport. He at first had trouble finding my name in his database and then told me that they did not have a reservation for me. I doubled checked that I was in the right hotel and after that was confirmed the man looked me up again. This time he found someone with a very similar name to mine (same first name- last name 3 letters off) and claimed he found my reservation. I saw the name and told him he was mistaken. I didn’t think much of this and considered it to be a simple mistake. He insisted that it was me but I informed him that I reserved online and so there is no chance my name was mis-communicated (and besides that the other man’s address (and country) was totally off!). Eventually he found my reservation and said I had to pay for the room right then. I informed him that I had already paid online using hotels.com and that the room was already paid for (just as a previous reviewer had mentioned). The receptionist told me that that cannot be the case and that I must be mistaken. The receptionist at this point started speaking to me in a rude tone and when I asked to speak to the manager he merely ignored me. At this point, their service became increasingly ruder and ruder. I assumed that when the receptionist ignored my request to speak to the manager that he was still working on my case or did contact the manager without my knowledge, so I decided to let the situation cool for a couple minutes. After 15 minutes it became obvious that they weren’t working on our situation (or much at all) and I stood up and asked again to speak to the manager. The receptionist loudly stated (in a voice that everyone else lounging in the lobby could hear) “Sir- without paying before hand –you cannot have a room”. At this point, I was not only embarrassed but insulted. I raised my voice and said I want service- I already paid and will not be ignored. At this point he stepped away without acknowledging me in the least and got his manager. His manager came out and had clearly heard little about what had transpired. I told him that I had already paid (I actually had to tell him this 3 times until it registered with him—even though his English was perfect)- and he told me that it was not possible for me to have previously paid. I explained the hotels.com system (to the hotel manager!) and he shook his head and said that “things don’t work that way in Egypt”. He insisted that he would run my credit card- and that if there was a double charge—“you can just contest it with your credit card company when you get back to the USA”! I informed him that I would do no such thing because that was not only fraudulent but I had already paid. I demanded that he call hotels.com and confirm the situation. After dragging his feet about letting me use a computer to check on the hotels.com phone number—I finally got it and asked him to call and confirm that I was telling the truth. When he saw that it was an international number the manager refused to call and said “why should I pay for an international call and not you”. I informed him that I had no working phone to call with and that I was his guest! (Also, it is not like he was taking my word for it- so it wouldn’t have mattered what I told him hotels.com told me over the phone.) I kept explaining how hotels.com worked – and the manager clearly wasn’t paying me any attention because his responses were totally off the topic. (For example, when I explained how you pre-pay online—he kept responding with “Trust me I understand, I am German”! As if that changed a thing! Looking back on this part of the exchange I laugh the most.) Eventually, after a long back and forth, he called and explained to the hotels.com customer service representative a partial rendition of the story (which downplayed much of what I told him). It was clear that the hotels.com representative told him that we must of pre-paid. At this point the manager turned to the original receptionist- told him to make sure our room was ready- and did not look me in the face for about two minutes. The manager eventually danced around his rudeness and tried to play it off as “both our mistakes” but I never once got an apology for their rudeness and their ignoring me. A simple sorry would have worked. After all this transpired (about an hour and a half- to two hours had passed) they still needed 30 minutes to finish preparing our room- so we decided to grab lunch (I was burned out at this point). Now beyond their rude, disorganized and patronizing service – about the hotel. The hotel does look beautiful and the pools are nice (which is standard in a resort town). Hotels.com has it listed that they have a night club- but it was closed indefinitely while I was there (at the height of the tourism season). The hotel is conveniently located on a main street. The hotel’s beach is about a ten minute walk away (there is a shuttle bus- but it ran too infrequently for us- and at the end of the day it was too full for us to fit). The beach is amazing- impeccable pure water and exotic fish- but again this is standard in Sharm al-Shaykh. The room was comfortable –with nice spacious bathrooms and comfortable beds. It all appeared to me to be clean—but I had to kill two cockroaches the morning of our departure – so looks can be deceiving. All in all- the city is wonderful, this hotel is a nice building in a great location- with a decent price—but the management, service and cleanliness is terrible. I would love to go back to the city – but I will never pay to stay at this hotel ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Aug 2009

Posted Aug 27, 2009
For the price I got per night you can't really complain too much. The staff was hard to understand and gave some false info and learned to cook for myself due to room service availabe but no menus...??? There was a restaurant onsite for dinner but never went. The pool area would be a nice view if you get on that side.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montpellier,france

localisation un peu loin de na'am bay...

Posted Aug 25, 2009
localisation un peu loin de na'ama bay où sont les plus belles plages de corails
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens

a cheap hotel for the Sharm standards but with a bit bad quality of services

Posted Aug 5, 2009 on Hotels
I should start by saying that this is a 3 star hotel, not a 4 star. The hotel has two story buildings of apartments built all around two pools and is full of trees and plants making the place look beautiful. The room was very comfy, with a very good air-conditioning inside the whole room, bathroom was very big but the shower looked a bit dirty. Food at the restaurant was also nice (buffet style with many options). The drawbacks. There seemed to be a lack of organization in the reception and between the employees there. When we first arrived they asked for my visa to pay for my stay while I had already paid online. I had to make a phone call to hotels.com, since they never offered a telephone device, to finally find out that indeed I had paid and they did not see that on the system. There excuse was that they only recently had started working with hotels.com I asked to extend my stay for some hours since my flight was late at night, the employee said that this could be done until 10 pm and I paid. When the check out day came they called and said that we had to leave the room by 6 pm. We took our time and left around 7.30 pm and they agreed that they won't charge me any extra. Not that if they planned to do so I would have paid. The only reason I might suggest this hotel is the good price. - I need to mention that a friend I met there left from day one and went to another hotel because his room was very dirty, so just consider that as well. -
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 19, 2007
I dont wanna to be unfair to the place because it was very comfortable but i maybe wish i had searched a bit more for hotels.The room itself was very comfotable so no problems there more often than not the staff were helpful and the facilities were ok but travelling around the area it seemed like lots of hotels had more on offer . Only problem with that being i dare say they cost more. Helpfully the hotel runs buses to the beaches and Naama Bay by night which is the best place to go for food at night but maybe id have liked more frequently