Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
all is good but far of the beach and the food is normal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shanie from sheffield

Very friendly and enjoyable holiday

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Excellent value for money. Staff couldn't do enough for you which made our stay even more enjoyable. The food was lovely and there was a good variety. Additional access to their sister hotel meant we could enjoy the beach and have a break from just the pool. More than one week was needed to enjoy everything on offer at Sharm al sheikh. Trips undertaken organised by the hotel was thoroughly enjoyed and very memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel with excellent food

Posted Jan 6, 2014
We have just returned from a great 2 weeks in sharm staying at this hotel over Xmas and new year. Can't fault the food or service one bit. There's a free shuttle bus to the sister hotel which is on the beach and you can snorkel there. A snorkel trip out to Tiran Island arranged by the hotel costed around £32 each and was well worth it. We really enjoyed our stay at the sol y mar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Experience

Posted Sep 13, 2012
very friendly staff. excellent food and entertainment. overall, excellent value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Kitchener, Ontario

The best all-inclusive in Sharm!

Posted Mar 4, 2011
My husband and I stayed at Sol Y Mar over the Christmas Break for 5 days, and it was one of the best resort holidays we have had in Egypt. The staff at this hotel are amazing! They are so helpful and friendly, every one of them when we were there. The head chef does an absolutely wonderful job with the daily menus. The 3 buffet meals that are served in the restaurant are simply delicious - every night was a surprise. My husband and I would wait in anticipation of our meals, wondering what they would have that night and we were not let down a single night. The lunches tend to be similar each day, but there is a good variety of dishes, both hot and cold. Breakfast is great, too. This hotel is also one of the cleanest that I have been in during my many stays at many hotels in this country. The rooms were nice and still fresh (this hotel was only built in 2009, I think). We had asked for one with direct access to the pool, but upon check-in, they gave us a choice of that room (which we had paid only an extra $3 per night for) or a room on the upper floors. They let us see a room near the pool and I must say, I am glad we went with an upper floor room. The rooms with pool access are the same as the other rooms BUT they are much SMALLER. We were quite comfortable in the room on the upper floor. This hotel is just a 10-minute taxi ride to the main strip in Sharm. The surrounding area is very quiet. I would totally stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic Weather, Pool Staff Excelent very freindly loved my lad, Food very Basic and im not fussy,

Posted Sep 18, 2010
Hotel location to the Airpor was greatt however with this its stuck out in the middle of nowhere. Pool staff very freindly and in Particular Nebal who Enterained us on many occasions( Thanks Nebal) Food was very basic and if you like Chicken and Beef YOU WILL LOVE THIS. On one morning i went to the Pool side bar for a Tea and i was concerned that there was the remains of a Pisa Dough make and cooked chips in the fat fryer basket, All this was left fromthe night before,The area was crawling with flys, Again Nebal came to the rescue and sorted this issue unnaceptable cleanissness out As this is an All Inclusive Package expect to pay for your Childrens Ice Cream during the day and dont expect too much Ice Cream on your Evening Meal Pudding Day Entertainment was very POOR and the Evening Entertainmaint was even worse ( this did change when the Hotel Director was due to visit the following day on Paper) This Hotelis classed at 3.5 - 4 Star, i have been to may Hotels and i would say that i would struggle to give it a 3 Star rating I will re-vist Egypt again however i will push the boat out and book in for a 5 Star Hotel where im sure the standard will be better
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Ok fora week

Posted Aug 19, 2010
1 week fine, but after two weeks food getsa little repetitive. Mainly Britishguests Make sure you visit sister hotel at Beach, mainly Italian guests
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Good for a quiet time at the pool, a bit noisy in the evening entertainment til 12.00

Posted Apr 27, 2010
Just of the main 'Peace Road' ideal for us as we rented a car and could easily go to Nama BAy and Old Town (10-15min) where most of the evening entertainment and Tourist gather. The beach 10min drive (or free hotel bus)was good, worth the drive down. The hotel had the usual reps for daily trip bookings and things to do, they were expensive and we booked our trips, Quad bike, horse riding, parasailing, camel rides from Nama bay and saved at least 30%. The tour bus will pick you up from your hotel. The hotel was clean and quiet, the room (family room) was big comfortable and with all the usual facilities, liked it very much. The all inclusive is really important at this hotel as its a long way to anywhere, although you could get the local bus from just outside. The food was o.k - good, if you dont mind the same thing most nights. Would go there again as the hotel price is just right for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Dejligt hotel - super sød personale

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Personalet
Cons: Lad være reklamere med free wifi når dette ikke er tilfældet! Kun de første 150 mb er gratis - det fremstår ingen steder!
Location: Ligger ikke det bedste sted - ingen strand på hotellet, men transport derhen - mulighed for mange seværdigheder, men snak om prisen - de snyder dig!
Super sødt personale, meget hjælpsomme, men mindre gode til engelsk. Hotellet ligger lidt udenfor byen, så hvis man skal ind til byen er det bedst og tage hotellet taxa - lidt dyrt, men mest sikkert. Naama Bay (centrum) er super skønt - men folket er ikke til og holde ud, alle råber og skriger efter en, ville have sig ind i deres butikker - ignorer disse mennesker og pas dig selv. Gem desuden dit armbånd - taxa folket vil trippe på dig ellers! Alle snyder med priser!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Corentine from Lille

Excellent séjour

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Personnel Ambiance et acceuil
Cons: Rénovation , WIFI gratuite pour toute la durée du séjour, Fer à repasser dans les chambres permanents, Diminuer les charges des navettes pour l'aéropo
Location: Proximité de la plage en navette Souks (15 minutes en taxi) Plongée et excursion sur l'ile e Tiran Quad dans le désert
Nous avons passé un excellent séjour dans cet hôtel (1semaine). Le personnel est très serviable, sympathique et authentique ( l'atout majeur de l'hôtel). C'est un hôtel très propre, dont les repas sont très diversifiés (malgré le seul restaurant + snack) et très bons. La piscine est spacieuse et propre, large disponibilité pour le choix des transats. La salle de sport est très appréciable. Clientèle en majorité anglophone, l'ambiance y est très chaleureuse et conviviale. L'hôtel se situe à 15 min des souks en taxi. Pour se rendre à la plage il faut prendre une navette (gratuite 8 min) dans un hôtel 5 étoiles du même groupe. Endroit parfait pour se détendre et profitez du soleil et de la diversité des récifs. Des excursions sont proposées ( nous avons opté pour l'ile de Tiran et le quad dans le désert) nous vous les recommandons vivement.