Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Empty Sharm

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Relax.
Cons: Mosguitos
Location: Huge Naama bay, if going to the beach of Ghazala Hotel you can see rare fishes in the left corner of the beach.
Rest in Egypt in 2017. Fly conveniently through Istanbul. I recommend to spend a couple of days in Istanbul, from Sabena airport to the center of Tassim there is one express, from Tassim to Attatürk another, four dollars each. So the flight to Sharm is three hours, ten minutes by taxi and Sonesta. Good weather, not hot, warm sea, very good food. Not quite a comfortable place for swimming, because at low tide the stones are too shallow, but you can always go into the water on any beach in Naama Bay. It is very important right behind the buoys at Sonesta there are corals, the only hotel Naama where corals can be viewed every day. A large area, lots of greenery, and a lot of mosquitoes. Be sure to get a basket of fruit, and more than once. Very polite staff, and in the restaurant, and on arrival, and on the beach, and room service. A few days later I wanted to relax at the Baron Hotel, because it is located on the open sea and accordingly the other marine fauna. In Sonesta, I booked through Expedia. Several days half-board to lose weight, then all inclusive and also booked Baron. But this is another story.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Affordable Sharm Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Sharm El Sheikh is a great destination and the Sonesta is an excellent and affordable place to stay. Pools are everywhere and the beach is a little small, but fun nonetheless. Staff is knowledgeable and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls Canada

Stay away from this place!

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The food and chefs were good.
Cons: Everything
Location: Location OK near the end of bay.
Rude and errogant staff at reception. First room had mold on ceiling and corners of bath tub and shower curtain had a smell that was disgusting. Floors were dirty and sand everywhere. After asking for another we got a room that you had to sit sideways on the toilet as you couldn't sit down property without your legs hitting a wall. Room had a urine smell even after they supposedly cleaned it before we changed room. Now the best part! We developed bed bug bites over all parts of our bodies. They call this a 5* resort so you decided what it is! You would be a fool to ever stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Alan

Dated and run down

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room and other areas were dated and looked run down... didn't match the website pictures
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SS

Nice hotel beach small area and crowded.

Posted May 28, 2015
Nice hotel, staff at reception a bit agressive in applying the laws for example, I wanted to add a person to my room since I was registered by my self, they said I can't do that And I need to rent a new room. But other than that great experience nice facility average food. Do all inclusive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the money!

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Great staff, no Hot Jacuzzi as advertised but overall great experience, do the Free Breakfast instead of the all inclusive, then eat a different meal in Namaa Bay (walking distance along the Promenade) every night. Pick up three bottles of your favorite libations at the SSH Duty Free when you arrive.
2 out of 5
by Lou from Qatar, Middle East

Not impressed!

Posted Dec 25, 2008
Hotel looked very nice when we walked in, spacious and spread out, but when we were given our room, the room was ok, but the bathroom was in very poor condition and there was a bad smell. Housekeeping only seemed interested in cleaning your room if you tipped them first! Been there two days and had food poisoning, not surprising as cochroaches were sharing the breakfast buffet with the punters! Too many restrictions with beverages with the 'all inclusive' package. The only nice bar in the hotel was not included in the 'all inclusive'. Needed medical treatment for the food poisoning and complained to reception about all of our points-but nothing was ever done or no apologies!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ain Sukhna, Egypt

Staff not helpful and didn't care

Posted Aug 12, 2008
The hotel facilities were fine and the food was OK, not great, but hey it's a hotel. The staff on the other hand were less than helpful. They would do what they had to but nothing more. What they did do was done grudgingly, it was very obvious that they were unhappy about doing it. I wouldn't go back just because of the staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Jun 4, 2008
Absolutely Outstanding! Wonderful! Very Satisfied!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Teddington, Middlesex

Great hotel in a great resort

Posted Oct 12, 2007
We've been to Sharm before, but this was a lot better than previous trips. The beach is small for the size of the hotel, so get there before 10am. The beach is very close to the coral, so the fish are literally on your doorstep. The deluxe room was a good size, and had some interesting features. The only downside was that the mattress didn't have much 'give'. As ever, the meals at the hotel are pricey, but there is a McDonald's across the street for lunch, and Na'ama Bay is only 15 minutes walk away for evening meals and drinks. The restaurants in Na'ama Bay are all reasonably priced, and the food in general is of good quality. We did not do any excursions, but just went snorkelling off a different part of the beach each day. Locals are friendly, and enjoy haggling, so barter for what you buy. Recommend it to everyone, young and old.