Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

idyllic peaceful hotel with a fantastic reef

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: the location
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: idyllic peaceful location with own beach access to the house reef. the blue hole is an easy 10 minute walk away & well worth a visit
could find nothing to fault; the hotel is more suited to couples who enjoy a peaceful vacation rather than families who would prefer a livelier hotel with entertainment etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Decent hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Hotel is ok for a 3 *. I was very disappointed that wifi was not included for free. We purchased wifi but the service was terrible. The hotel staff are good, some more helpful than others. Food was decent even though it can be repetitive at times especially breakfast. Variety is very limited. We had sea view room which had an amazing view. Room was cleaned every day and included basic facilities. No tea/coffee were included in the rooms. The hotel is located on the beachfront which was great. There are many activities available to participate in such as diving, snorkelling, quad biking (amazing), excursions and relaxing spa/massage but nothing to do in the evenings after dinner. Overall good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Dahab Tropitel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The staff, location and food
Cons: I would prefer a heated pool in the cooler months
Location: The hotel is near the famous blue hole and coloured canyon. It is right on the coral reef so divers and snorkelers will be in their element
I was surprised that this hotel was in a place called Dahab rather than in Sharm as expected but it turned out to be a lovely mistake, apart from the getting to it! I had asked Expedia Customer Services to arrange a transfer for us from the airport as none had been offered, but I didn't hear from them. We did our own thing and negotiated a taxi - 350 Egyptian pounds and many hours later (you have to wait for convoys to get there) we arrived and were delighted with the place. It's very isolated so thank goodness we chose the all inclusive option - I MUST here! The staff were delightful and the food superb. There was ample variety and staff were more than happy to accommodate requests (like fried eggs for me at breakfast!) I can't recommend this place highly enough!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo

Good snorkeling access

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Snorkeling, and the lovely couple we met from the UK, Peter & Sharm! And the towel lads.
Cons: My wife bought an ice cream, but I don't think too many punters had had an ice cream over the years; it was clearly out of date
Location: 30 minute walk to the Blue Hole.
If you're a snorkeler, it's a great location. There are two piers in front of the hotel that enable easy access to the reef. If you're into gourmet food, the buffet selection won't be to your liking. Most of the staff were very friendly & helpful, especially the towel lads and the restaurant staff. The only real frustration we had was when the A/C in our room packed it in. We contacted the front desk twice, and they said maintenance would come and repair it... but nobody arrived. After 90 minutes we went to the front desk to politely ask for someone to inspect the A/C while we had dinner. After dinner I checked the room, but the temperature gauge was still at 30 degrees Celsius. Again back to the concierge, who impatiently informed me it had been fixed and that it would take just a few minutes for the temperature to drop from 30 degrees. I told him it hadn't dropped from 30 degrees for the past 6 hours, and to accompany me to our room as he clearly didn't believe me. Instead he abruptly & arrogantly offered us an alternative room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and quiet, excellent for divers

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: The staff and the diving
Cons: Food a little samey samey after 2 weeks but still always found something nice.
Location: Desert, diving, camels, more diving and, did I mention the diving?
First off if you want to learn to dive or are a diver who has never visited Dahab, go book your holiday here immediately. If you don't you will be making a mistake you'll regret for the rest of your life! I've just come back from a solo visit to the Tropitel, learned to dive with Kerstin of the Lagona dive centre and had a truly excellent holiday. The thing which makes this place special is the staff, they will bend over backwards to resolve any problems you might have and will do their best to make you feel welcome and happy. The main thing is to say something as soon as it becomes a problem, once you do you'll be impressed with how quickly action is taken. If you want a lot of nocturnal activity and animation teams then probably best book somewhere else because the Tropitel doesn't have any of those. However, if you want a peaceful and relaxing pool holiday, or some of the best diving anywhere on the planet, then you can do a lot worse. I could nitpick about minor stuff with the food and the room but I'm not going to because none of it really mattered to me enough to say anything. I never went hungry and found the room clean and comfortable. The house reef means there's no easy access to the sea from the beach, but just go snorkelling there once and you'll soon realise that what you get more than makes up for it. In terms of location the transfer to Sharm is about an hour but it means you get no noise at from the airport. Like I said, peaceful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mo from oxford

Lovely holiday in all ways!!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The staff are so friendly. The room was lovely. The food was really good. The beach and pool were everything you hope for in a hotel
Cons: Nothing
Location: Its a very quiet location but always felt interesting.Dahab town,five minutes away by bus was very interesting....lovely,authentic stalls and bars.
We arrived with Egypt in a state of chaos in Cairo but nothing spoilt the peace of Dahab and this fantastic resort....it was everything we hoped and more!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Just OK

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, location on beach, Diving center
Cons: Tired and dingy rooms, uninspired flavorless food, expensive internet service
Just returned from one week at Tropitel. We booked the half board option that included breakfast and dinner. This hotel is a mixed bag. First of all they really are not set up for guests who are not on the all inclusive plan. If you are not All-Inclusive no drinks are included in your meals, (even drinking water). The food is ok but nothing to write home about or make the meals exciting in any way. On the other hand most of the staff were friendly and helpful, quickly fixing our AC and bringing extra towels. The grounds staff seems to work hard keeping the outside areas looking nice, and they do. The private beach and pool are pretty nice. There always seemed to be enough lounge chairs and shade. There is a nice dock that leads to a good snorkeling area. Only problem on the beach is the constant stream of salespeople from the hotel's "spa" which is highly overpriced. The room was pretty basic and in need of a renovation. Mattresses were old and hard, the bathroom had a slight sewage smell to it and was somewhat dingy. The TV was small and almost all channels were fuzzy. Dahab is about 15 minutes away. The hotel offers a shuttle in the morning and evening but if you go into town for lunch you'll be stuck until after 6pm. Internet is also very expensive at the hotel and we ended up always going to Dahab to use free WIFI at a restaurant. Overall this hotel may be a good value for the money but if food and room comfort are priorities for you I would look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

fijn hotel met lekker eten

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Het goede eten , De Spa
Cons: te weinig licht bij het bed voor het lezen van een boek . Bij aankomst om 22.30 was er niets te eten
Location: Lokatie is goed , er gaat 5 maal per dag een shuttle bus naar het centrum .je kunt duiken bij het hotel of je laten ophalen door een andere school
Je kunt je water fles gratis bij laten vullen zodat je niet steeds een nieuwe hoeft te kopen .Goed voor het milieu .de shuttle bus naar het centrum was fijn .De spa was goed ,jammer genoeg was er geen tijd meer voor een tweede massage .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bruxelles

Hotel cosy, très propre et calme

Posted Mar 19, 2015
J'ai séjourné dans cet hôtel avec mon copain pendant 1 semaine au mois de mars 2015. L'hôtel est situé en dehors de la ville de Dahab (10-15 min), mais il dispose d'une navette gratuite pour s'y rendre, plusieurs fois par jour. Les chambres sont spacieuses et très propres. Le personnel extrêmement gentil, réactif et souriant. Le choix au restaurant est tout à fait correct, avec aussi quelques plats préparés sur le moment par les chefs. La piscine est très bien entretenue, ainsi que la plage (privée) et on a droit a des serviettes de plage propres tous les jours. L'eau est gratuite si on prend un verre à la fois, mais payante si on prend un bouteille, mais c'est normal. La seule chose qui m'a un peu dérangé concerne le matelas du lit : il était extrêmement dur, ça m'a donné un torticolis les 2 derniers jours. Le personnel de l'hôtel (je crois) propose plusieurs types de services : spa, excursions, diving... Je les ai trouvé un peu trop insistants, mais bon rien de dérangeant. Le but de mes vacances c'était de faire de la plongée : choisissez un centre diving au centre de Dahab, Shams en particulier, beaucoup moins chers que le centre diving de l'hôtel et super professionnels et sympa. En tous cas, excellent petit hôtel tranquille, très très bon rapport qualité/prix, à conseiller !
2 out of 5
by Eugenia from Briatico

DELUSA, ASPETTAVO DI PIU'

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: posizione
Cons: Il cibo veramente lasciava desiderare meglio!Specialmente se avete qualche allergia o intolleranza alimentare scrivete con i caratteri cubitali!!!
Location: hotel situato in prima linea di mare, con bella barriera corallina,a 5km da Blue Hole,raggiungibile a piedi o in groppa di dromedari strada non c'é...
Struttura in sé molto carina, ma non funzionante!Non c'era nessuno di personale che parlava italiano,cibo nel ristorante com'è la mensa scolastica,poca scelta e di pessima preparazione,la frutta quasi assente.Nella doccia e in lavandino non funzionavano i rubinetti,ma non hanno cambiato la camera,perché altre non erano pronte.Biancheria da letto,bagno e teli spiaggia presentavano spesso segni di logorio...Wi-fi a pagamento,ma funziona malissimo.Se lo stesso decidete partire e soggiornare in questo hotel,assicuratevi il transfert da/per aeroporto ancora prima di partire!