Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Old, smelly, dirty rooms. The hotel would need a complete revamp. Potential is huge but it will need a lot of love to become nice again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Nice hotel with antique touch

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness of the room.
Cons: It smells like an old place.
Very nice and quiet place, in a half-way between different local attractions. Not far from National Park, not far from quite good restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helping.
4 out of 5
by arthur

clean and cozy inn

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
a clean, cozy and comfortable inn, excellent food and close to maurice national park, the inn is a little dark and dated but that it a matter of personal taste
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is located at some distance from the town center. Hotel restaurant is the only one nearby. On my second night, someone played the piano until 11:00 pm. The third night some guest were late coming in and made a fair amount of noise getting into their room (high heels on wooden floor). Hotel is clean, but could use a little TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Affordable Option

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Reasonably priced, close to most area attractions
Cons: Upgrade some of the amenities such as the bathroom (shower) and also a more up to date TV
Nice hotel away from the Shawinigan downtown area. Good if you are not looking to actually spend time in Shawinigan and are expecting to drive to the various attractions, etc. but room was a little more basic with fewer amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel, is very peaceful and comfortable

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Staff is good, aover all we liked it, staff was very cooperative
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay on July 12 and 13

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Room and pool
Cons: Dining room
Location: Very nice and relaxing.
The room was very nice and well maintained. Food at the dining room was good but service was very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 4, 2012
We had a great stay. Clean room and very accommodating staff. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Off the beaten path, but very nice

Posted Nov 7, 2011 on Hotels
Due to some confusion with our reservation, the number of beds in our room wasn't correct, but that was quickly resolved by the front desk. Our room was very charming and comfortable. The thermostat was a bit confusing, causing the room to overheat. Overall, Shawinigan was a pleasant surprise and made for a nice stopover point between Montreal and Quebec City.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livingston, Scotland

A charming delight!

Posted Oct 25, 2011
Booked this property thinking that it was a small quirky B+B but could not be further from the truth. An absolutely delightful guest house. Yes, it is chintzy with its floral wallpaper, wood features, numerous duck ornaments etc... but it felt extremely homely. Bedroom was a good size and well-maintained and serviced. Staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the biggest surprise was the quality of food in the restaurant - out of this world! We visited this property en-route to Quebec and whilst it did involve a 30km detour off the main motorway (coming off at Trois Rivieres), it was definitely worth it. It gave us a true escape to the country and a chance to relax.