Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
It was perfect for us. Great value, great location for walking to restaurants and the bicycle trails were accessible right from the parking lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Bad door

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Desk clerk was having a personal phone chat with her roommate. Had to wait 30 seconds for her to cut short her phone call. Our room #165 has a bad door. Had to struggle to open it. Wasn't installed properly. The deadbolt didn't match up with the holes on the frame,so we couldn't deadbolt the door. The smell upon entering the room was musty. Basically smell was from the air conditioner. On a positive note,room was clean,and the breakfast was excellent! Beautiful view of Lake Michigan behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The location next to Lake Michigan is wonderful. The hotel seems to have been refurbished recently. Every thing seemed clean and new. The breakfast offered extensive choices, and the breakfast room has beautiful views of the lake. Most of the staff were very friendly and efficient. Only the person behind the desk had zero personality. When we tried to enter a side entrance the second day, the key card did not work. When we went to the desk to have them recoded, the clerk acted as if we had done something stupid. This was the only poor experience in and otherwise wonderful stay in a good facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chippewa Falls, WI

Beautiful property on Lake Michigan.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The location and the view. The breakfast room is huge along with outdoor patio with a lot of seating.
Cons: Put refrigerators in all the rooms, and not just the even numbered rooms. Extend the breakfast hours to 10:00 a.m. The pool could have been cleaner.
Location: We love the location on the harbor. The Lake Michigan bike/walk path is in front of the hotel. The submarine museum and a great beach is nearby.
This was our second time at the hotel and we love the property and location. This time we had issues with not being able to get a refrigerator in our room which my diabetic husband needed to keep his insulin cool. They had fourth of July celebration on the grounds, open to the public, so parking in their lot became something of an issue. We still like the hotel and would stay again. The breakfast is good, but since the hotel is used primarily by vacationers I think they should extend the hours to 10:00 a.m.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitawoc, WI

Lovely experience!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We were thrilled with location not only on the lake but also on the Manitawoc River, able to witness a ship going through the draw bridges- a rare sight we were told. The tug pushing two barges of huge boulders followed closely behind. Great staff, lovely clean room, nice sauna and big pool. Would have loved to have the window open for fresh lake air and the night sounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stop by

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stoped there after a long road trip, It is a nice place, friendly and well located to some eateries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lakefront view

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel is very out dated which is so unfortunate being right on the lake. House keeping was questionable! Not sure we would stay again. Hopefully Baymont can turn this hotel around into something special. The patio viewing the lake could use some ambiance, outside living space with couches, gas fireplaces would be a great recommendation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for the Fourth and the ferry

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Wish I had scheduled more time to explore the town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Lack of cleaning crew

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing much. Reminded me of a hotel that has lived passed it's usefulness.
Cons: Remodel the rooms, hire enough staff in case someone calls in sick, and offer a perk when the customer is inconvenienced.
Location: Manitowoc on a Sunday evening is a sleepy little town with not much to do. At least the ice cream parlor was open. Lake was cool that day.
Checked in at 5.30 PM but had to wait for the room to be cleaned. Check in gal explained that they didn't have enough help that day for cleaning the rooms and suggested we sit at the bar until our room was cleaned. Would have been nice to get a voucher for a free drink or something for our inconvenience. Once in the room we received an unwelcome smell in the form of an old dirty dish rag kind of smell. We needed to fumigate the room for a couple hours by turning on the room and bathroom fan. Eventually the smell disappeared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Staff was really nice, hotel was clean and well kept. Would definitely stay there again.