Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very dumpy and understaffed.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Wifi works well and since it is off of the highway it is not as noisy as those by the Interstate. It has lake views.
Cons: More staff - someone to be at the desk more often, and a kitchen staff that is aware of the need to keep things going in the breakfast room.
Location: The lake is pretty and there are shops along the street facing it. However, be warned - they close at 3 or 4 on Saturdays.
I am surprised at all the 4- and 5-star ratings I am seeing for this hotel. It is, in a word, a dump. It is true that it is convenient if you want to be in Manitowoc. And the wifi worked well. But otherwise it is awful. There was nobody at the check-in desk when we arrived and when we left. There was brackish looking water with cucumber in it in an urn, which later in the day was replaced by brackish looking strawberry water, and overall the place had an odd smell. On the plus side there is a full breakfast available but it has the usual pre-made "stuff," nothing special. But that was not the problem - they were out of almost everything and the waffle iron didn't work well because a lot of gunk was burned onto it. I got hold of someone at the front desk as the kitchen staff was nowhere to be found and everything got replenished (although I don't know the fate of the gunked-up waffle iron). I am by no means blaming the front desk people for their absence - clearly the place is understaffed. They were perfectly nice and helpful. The hotel is cutting corners in every way possible, including by not having enough staff at the front nor kitchen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Decent hotel close to the car ferry

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Older hotel with old school policy of charging a $50 dollar damage deposit. Nice location on Lake Michigan. Some stains on the carpet and the arm chair was old and gross.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, hood location for the area.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Enjoyed walking along lakefront and around harbor on beautiful summer days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ruhiges Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Die zentrale und trotzdem ruhige Lage.
Cons: Das Personal an der Rezeption ist überwiegend eher herb und nicht sonderlich freundlich.
Location: Das Hotel liegt in fußläufiger Entfernung zur sog. Altstadt von Manitowoc, von der man sich aber nicht zu viel versprechen sollte.
Von dem ruhig gelegenen Hotel sind mehrere gute Restaurants fußläufig zu erreichen. Die Zimmer sind etwas dunkel aber ordentlich ausgestattet und ruhig. Der unmittelbar an den Empfangsbereich angrenzende Indoor-Swimmingpool ist nur dürftig sichtgeschützt und wird eher von Kindern genutzt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review on our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely view of the lake

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The view of the lake and the infused water by the front desk. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Cons: They could use some new towels. Also the bar has no windows! Who wants to sit in a bar with no windows on the lake?
Location: The Maritime Museum is right next door and there's a beautiful walking trail along the lake.
We enjoyed the view of the lake and 2 lighthouses from our window. The patio was a nice place to relax in the evening. The room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. I am glad that your enjoyed your recent stay. Hopefully, we get another chance to have you stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevens Point, WI

Good rest before day 2 of ride.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The hotel was very convenient to where we spent the night between days of our ride in the scenic shore 150. The hotel was quiet which worked for a good nights rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. Hopefully, we will have a chance to stay with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Very nice

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Location and very clean.
Location: Right on Lake Michigan for a reasonable price. We visited the Maritime Museum which is close by.
Nice place with a super breakfast. Enjoyed the comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Jessica B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet all of your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sub fest fun

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great location! Encountered three different front desk staff-- had issues with all three acting strangely. First was dismissive when we attempted to check prior to check in time. Second yelled at a housekeeping staff member for drinking water set out for guests. Third continued a conversation with housekeeping as we tried to check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Jessica B, Hotel Management
Thank you for all of your comments on your review. We take all into consideration and the issues you had with the front desk has been addressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel in Manitowoc WI

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The Best Western was recommended by family members who live near Manitowoc. It was fantastic. Everything from the accommodations to the staff who were very personable. Would DEFINITELY stay and recommend this to others. We make the trip a couple times a year and we now know we have our accommodations taken care of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Jessica B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the property. I am glad that we were able to meet all of your expectations. Hopefully, we get another opportunity to have you stay with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Location....Outdated Rooms

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Outdated room decor and vending machines....had a real problem spending what I did for a weekend there, but it was all that was available....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Jessica B, Hotel Management
I do apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations when you chose to stay at our hotel. We value all of our guests opinions and take them to heart because we want all of our guests to enjoy themselves when they stay with us. Hopefully, you would give us another chance to redeem ourselves.