Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcestershire

Nice hotel with a good stocked shop across the rd;

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: convient one night stop
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
nice hotel, nice room with a comfortable bed, nice breakfast too, with a good choice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Not nice

Posted Feb 5, 2018
New owners no staff One staff cooking serving on her own 20 mind wait For breakfast Bar closed no staff Used that hotel lots off time Very good Down hill from now sham
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Down visiting best friend

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Very easy to book on line, having read recents reviews I must say value for money, those that think they can get a 5 star room for 3 star valve wake up you criticisers, A great hotel, friendly staff, clean room exactly what you need, fantastic breakfast included. Well done Shurland & thank you for making our stay welcoming experience 10/10
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Reception, Hotel Management
Your welcome, glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Business trip

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable stay, pleasant staff ideal for business stop over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Nice hotel, very convenient and a pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Trivago
Cons: was a little tired needs a little updating, although it is very difficult times, so cleanliness for us was good enough
A bargain stay for one night, staff were very helpful and very polite. and WOW! what a breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Louise

One night only....

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and staff were nice breakfast was good. The room was not so good, right above the speaker for outside music, the shower head just sprayed water everywhere (needs replacing) the door didn't close unless you locked it.... the loo paper cheap and horrible.
5 out of 5
by Margaret

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Wendy

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Made to feel welcome by staff and locals in the bar area
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Second time stay

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
This is the second time we have stayed here its a bit weird that the Hotel is ran separately to the Bar/restaurant but still a great place to stay with large car park in the centre of the village
3 out of 5
by James

No one at reception. Comfy

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for a wedding reception. We arrived and were in a slight rush (which is our fault) but we waited at the unmanned reception for about 10 minutes, pressing the bell. In the end i had to go and find someone, who came to the reception and called the manager, "hes on his way" another 8 minutes later, and a lot of bell ringing, and two young girls came to give me my key. I appreciate that this wasnt their job to check people in, so perhaps the fact that they handed me the key and expected me to know where my room is, and not run through any of the hotel policies could be expected. But there should be someone ready to receive you when checking in. Anyway, that out of the way, the room was decent, nothing special, the lighting was very very dull, but otherwise clean and comfortable. We stayed 30 mins over our check-out time (which i had to go online to find out) and nothing was said, so that was appreciated. All in all, the reception issue is easily fixed and its a nice place. Perhaps overpriced, but on the island there aren't many options, so you can expect that.