Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay at Shurland Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed for one night, checking was speedy, room was comfortable. However I did not eat at the hotel so unable to advise on food quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Colchester

John G Sept 2013

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: As above.
Cons: As above.
Location: Good country walking available within a few minutes of the hotel. I was there on business so no time to do anything else.
Some attention needed to room maintenance(bedside light not working, protruding screws on bedside unit only covered by a piece of loose wood).Pointed out to staff on departure .Otherwise, room was comfortable. Furniture in room not suitable for working at for any period of time(OK for 30 mins.). Brochure in room needs updating - states meals available in bar until 10pm (is now 9pm).Fortunately, there is a Cost Cutter over the road which is open late where you can get food. Staff are friendly, good breakfast and well kept real ale.
2 out of 5
by Su from Farnborough

Poor service

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels
Poor food, I Had the pate, which was only edible in the middle, cod was obviously not cod as far to many small bones in it, also booked family room to be called and told non left, even though when booked there was!!! No apologies given just a King size bed for 3 of us to sleep in, as there was nowhere else to stay I couldn't really object. No mention of complimentary breakfast or complimentary anything due to last minute changes and room overlooked high street which was very noisy late in the evening, not good for a 3 year old.
1 out of 5
by Jackie from Middlesex

Not worth the. Money

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights, didn't think it was worth £60.00 a night more like £30.00 on a noisy road loud noise from pub downstairs . Room was small and very basic tv kept getting no service and breakfast was not included . This is the first time I've ever give a bad review
4 out of 5
by Izzard from Kent

All right. Would use again.

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels
Positive: + Quiet little village. + Two convenience stores and a hairdresser within metres. + Ample parking + Friendly welcome + Waitress was accommodating and the breakfast was quickly made to order (tasty eggs!) + Room 18 (family room with bunk) was spacious enough. + Whole hotel was VERY clean (noticeably the bar loos and our room/bathroom) Negative: - Extremely loud ventilation system noise right outside the window - no good at all if you are a light sleeper. - Only two sockets in the room, one by the table and the other by one side of the bed (leaving an unplugged lamp on the other side). - Bathroom extractor fan not working. - Charged us on checkout even though we'd paid in advance through hotels.com. Refunded this on being told but avoided actually apologising, which sort of left a bad taste. Overall not bad for the price and did the job for us which was a short getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tracy from London, Greater London N7, UK

Nice location

Posted Jul 21, 2013
everything was ok it was really only somewhere to put our heads down as we spent all our time at a surprise birthday on a caravan site down the road will deff book it again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by Lauren01 from Dagenham

Great location with fantastic facilities

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels
I was impressed with the size of my room, its facilities and the hotel facilites. I used the jacquzzi, restaurant and bar and thought that it was a good value for money. It was a good location, close to the seafront and nightlife which is what we wanted and I would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Annstram from Kent

Good service,comfortable, affordable family room

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels
Was excellent - stayed there before and all was good then too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from hampshire

good value

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Clean
Cons: TV was too high up the wall for comfortable viewing
Location: Easy access
Only spent one night but found nothing to complain about .