Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Gorgeous hotel with wonderful grounds.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, character, grounds.
Cons: Ventilation.
Location: Close to Sheffield city centre, easy reach of the Peak District.
Staff were fantastic, the room was clean and well provisioned. We had a garret room in the old hall, which had lots of character. The shower was brilliant. The only problem was one that is common to so many hotels. Too much heat and too little ventilation. Even with the radiators turned off and the windows open, the room was uncomfortably hot and I found it hard to sleep. Heat rises, and a room at the top will get warm. The window gave a wonderful view of the grounds, and I understand why a room at such a height doesn't have a fully opening window, but the main thing a hotel guest needs is a good night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Very peaceful, great garden and polite and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Poor Welcome and Not Ready to Welcome Families

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Cons: as above
I booked this room last minute for a friends wedding. I booked via expedia at a rate of £98 Room Only. On arrival I was greeted at the desk and the lady asked to take my card payment. I entered my card and checked the amount only to discover there was a rate of £148 on the machine. I asked if this was for a pre authorisation on the room and I was told that this was the room rate. Knowing this not to be the case I explained the rate I had booked. Unfortunately at this point in time I couldn't get onto my emails to prove it but the lady behind the desk said there was nothing she could do about it, this was the rate on her screen and this was the rate I was paying! I found this to be quite rude and unhelpful,there was no attempt to look into this or rectify the issue. I did eventually manage to get on the web so I was able to prove the rate I had booked but felt this shouldn't have been an issue in the first place. On another note I was very disappointed with the facilities for families. Knowing the hotel is a big wedding venue I would have thought it would be geared up for families. To discover that there were no baby changing facilities in the function suite and to have to change a 5 week old baby on a toilet floor is quite frankly disgusting. The ladies are plenty large enough to install a baby changing table as are the disabled loos. This hotel needs to get the basics right.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barnsley

Outdated and Over Priced! Very Comfortable Bed

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We booked for a Wedding & thought we'd make the most of the experience & went for a superior room. The room was pleasant, but out dated, cold & in need of repair. The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was enjoyable but the plates were tiny, more suited to a toddler than an adult. Overall not terrible, just outdated and way over priced. £6ish for a pint & £14.95 for toddler sized breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Cons: Porridge not very warm
Pleasant comfortable stay. Nice surroundings helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon uk

Disappointing.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Stunning location and lovely building. Fabulous (superior) rooms with lake-view balconies. Gorgeous grounds. Such a pity it is amateurishly run, and yet they claim 4*, which may not be for much longer. Bar doesn't stock it's menu items. Keep away from restaurant - except for buffet breakfast as service is "slower than treacle". Eat out locally instead. Pleasant little, very warm, indoor pool. Receptionists Tanitia+Zoe both oustanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Lovely grounds and lake, in a quiet location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Lovely grounds, comfortable and relaxing seating area downstairs near the bar and restaurant.
Cons: I didn't like to see the many cigarette butts on the ground around the patio sitting area outside, as a non smoker it wasn't very pleasant.
Location: Hotel location was lovely and quiet, no road traffic noise, don't know the area at all.
Very helpful and pleasant staff, stayed overnight for a wedding nearby. Hotel very busy and full due to two weddings and a birthday taking place, however we were not inconvenienced by this at all and still received excellent treatment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barnsley

Great hotel!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Our stay was great; helpful staff that understood our problem (half the group got stuck on the m1 for two hours). The rooms were huge and well equipped. You can book in advance and stay here for less money than the premier inn a mile closer to town. Comfort or proximity. Choose comfort here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Beautiful building, lovely gardens and serene open spaces
Cons: 1. Cleaning 2. Air conditioning 3. Magnetic door keys
Location: Great location to visit the peak districts
Stayed at the hotel for a holiday in the peak district. Positives - spectacular garden, open spaces and reasonably friendly staff Negatives - a) No air conditioning in the room - so on a very hot day it can get extremely stuffy in the room b) cleaning not adequate or on time - we stayed there for 3 days, even on return from a trip outside at 3pm, the bins in the room had not been emptied c) Biggest negative is their magnetic door key which simply deactivated irrespective of whether you kept it close to your mobile phone or credit cards - needed reactivation more than once and a long queue to simply get back into your room even when you had booked to stay there for 3-4 days! Overall i d probably recommend it still - staff were friendly, but definitely needs improving on a few fronts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel Ideal for a relaxing break

Posted Jul 22, 2017
A pleasant stay Location is excellent for the city of Sheffield