Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Very disappointing. Will not visit again

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: As indicated above, the staff were excellent.
Cons: The decor is unappealing and the fixtures and fittings are tired. Needs a comprehensive revamp by a good interior designer.
We stayed for two nights and attended a wedding there. Our standard room was clean, but claustrophobic, with tired fittings and fixtures. The original hall itself has tasteless additions tacked on, truly carbuncles of chrome, plastic and aluminium. Hence there is no atmosphere and the public rooms, apart from the small Old Hall, resemble a transport cafe and are uninviting. The adjacent stables, the venue for weddings, was much more appealing, with far fewer distracting exterior and interior modernisations. The first night we dined in the restaurant and returned the main course of inedible steak. The wedding reception meal was much better. Prices at the bar are unduly expensive. The hotel's best asset is the staff, who were unfailingly polite, professional and helpful. We will not visit the hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

last minute booking

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Comfortable clean room with all the required facilities at a reasonable price. The staff at reception and in the bar were very helpful. Free wifi in room was a definite plus point.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Devon

Rather tired hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Price and convenient location for our visit to relatives
Cons: Service!
No receptionist or bar staff or restaurant staff when we arrived. We found them in a room behind the restaurant socialising. Room was very cold when we first entered and took a long time to become comfortable after we turned on the radiator. Room was very nice but 'tired and in need of some told or preferably redecorating. V. Poor drainage from w.h. basin and bath. Good price but probably wont stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Good hotel and at the right price

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location and style
This is a good hotel and the price we paid was excellent. Room was clean and quite large. Bathroom was excellent. Bed was a bit soft. Staff very attentive. The breakfast was good and cooked to our liking. Car parking no problem. It was full but I found a space.
4 out of 5
by Terry

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, lovely room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by graham

A cracking Saturday night out

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room good food. Friendly staff only downside wifi connection non existent in bedroom 103 but would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
by Margaret Smith

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Overnight stay on our way to Gloucester.
5 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tina

Great hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel just 4 miles from Sheffield, set in spacious grounds with lovely views. Plenty of parking, and free unlike hotels in the city. The hotel was large, having a Modern feel and staff were welcoming. It was a very clean , bright room and the bed was comfy. Nice ensuite with soft towels and toiletries .We brought our two little dogs and even received treats for them by the hotel staff. Lots of green areas around the hotel if they needed a wee or walk. After our long journey we ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was great as well as the wine,and not too pricey. The 3 course meal with wine and drinks for 4 adults came to £130. We were made welcome and I would stay there again .