Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB Canada

Nice hotel, charming town

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great hotel on all counts except didn't count on it being so far from town 15 £ to get taxi from Oxford rail station to here and taxi's here don't take credit cards so be prepared to always have cash on hand
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Marvellously central

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Staff training The spelling of the hotel name on the credit card slip
Location: Municipal galleries
Slightly cramped, with dodgy sound insulation between bathrooms. The staff are pleasant, but undertrained: one of the receptionists was chewing gum; they forgot to bring my breakfast to my room; a cleaner did not understand "ground floor". However, the fact that it is 5 minutes to the Graves Art Gallery and the Millennium Gallery, and even less on the tram to the railway station is a big asset.
5 out of 5
by Vicky from Manchester

Great value

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Helpful staff. Easy check in/out. Handy nearby parking for reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some upgrades

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Centrally located in the city
Cons: see above; i told maintenance so maybe they will fix the electricity issue
Location: right near shopping and downtown, close enough to arena as well
Centrally located and nice bar area. I have issues with hotels that do not have plugs near the bed (and in my case no phone at all to call guests and weak electricity in room -- so took 8 hours for my phone to charge/teapot would not heat at all). I also have issues with older plumbing - scalding hot on one side and cold on the other. Once you get it regulated and hit the shower button - you have to regulate yet again...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and central

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Very good hotel in Central Shelffield, close to the main sights. My room was quite small but still comfortable. Wifi worked great
3 out of 5
by Lisa

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, however, hotel rooms were very dated and not really clean
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chris

Cool

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is dated but, for me, in a good way. Touch of modernism still left. It was warm weather when I was there but I imagine in very cold weather the steel framed windows might not be up to modern standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Convenient location, easy to get everywhere

Posted May 7, 2017
I came of a concert at the 02, this was very close. I had a hard time finding the hotel, and I was really confused on where to park. Gps says turn on George street, which looks like s walkway path and I found that stressful coming from Canada, but that's just how the roads are. The hotel staff were great helping me park, the room was small, but very comfy. The bed was SO comfortable and the pillows were amazing. Really liked this cute hotel, it's a chain hotel, but still keeps the "feels" of being in Europe :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value hotel in central location

Posted May 6, 2017
Cons: One of the light switches didn't work, and I couldn't get hot water from the tap in the evening.
Attractive hotel and very good value. Can't complain!