Ratings based on 1,335 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city center

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Over all a nice hotel apart from the king size bed was two separate mattresses pushed together so u feel the dip in it
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review of your recent stay. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, and hope you'll stay again soon. We do have a number of zip and link beds designed to join together, but if you would prefer not to have one of these please do contact us in advance of your arrival and we can pre-allocate a suitable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Great if last minute deal

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Paid £45 for a large double, well equiped, comfortable nice room, can't grumble one bit !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review of your recent stay - you really did have a bargain! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Excellent Customer Service

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff; the size of the room; free parking.
Cons: The breakfast was rather expensive for very standard fare.
Location: Next to Sheffield United stadium. About 4 min drive or 20 min walk from Ponds Forge.
Good location for us with free parking and not far from Ponds Forge. Room was spacious with fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Clean and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Would thoroughly recommend. Will happily stay here next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review, and your wonderful comments. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again later this year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Stayed over for Xmas party. Excellent hotel for the money paid. Room was larger than I expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review of your recent stay. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll visit again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sat night treat

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Great hotel with splendid staff and food. made our stay . In Sheffield.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Sheffield. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rickmansworth

warm friendly greeting, lovely room, good food

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: friendly helpful staff and claan room
Location: very close to football ground and short walk (15 mins) to centre
Nice stay with a comfortable bed and lovely room, Not a very inspiring view but it's a city location
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Sheffield. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good affordable short term hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Affordable near city centre hotel with ample free parking and good internet connection.
Cons: Lack of clothes storage for longer stays.
Location: I was born and lived in this area for many years so it was very convenient for visiting relatives.
This hotel is ideal as a short stay for guests requiring easy parking. We stayed for ten nights before continuing our holiday which means we carried a fair amount of luggage. We asked reception for extra hanging space (rail etc) but nothing came of it so we lived out of suitcases. Everything else about the stay was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Cothorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the review of your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Sheffield. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies for the lack of storage space in the rooms, your comments have been noted and will be taken into account should we have opportunity to change our rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but poor environmentally

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Nice size rooms, well decorated.
Cons: Environmental practices.
This is an attractive hotel with nice room. Ours was a lovely size. It took ages to find the tea and coffee facilities hidden in a cupboard that didn't look like a cupboard. Had to phone reception twice to properly find out. Suggested they might like to label the cupboard and was told 'that has been suggested before'. Well, give it a go then :-) Turned out there wasn't any decaf/herbal tea though. The lighting is a bit odd with so many lamps, ceiling and trendy/mood side of floor lighting, but actually could barely see to read in bed as the lamp was low and had a big dark shade. The rooms are hermetically sealed and very warm and airless. On opening the curtains, one side was a wall and the other a sealed window that does not open. So you have to use the cooling (or heating) fan. Not great environmentally for their energy use or people's health. At breakfast jams were all in the little glass jars, again not great environmentally. I asked if they re-used them and they said no, so I asked if I could have some (for lip salves I'm making) and they said no as they're in the bin. When I asked if they could just take a handful out of the glass bin, they said no, they're in the main bin with all the rubbish and they won't touch that. So they're not even recycling the glass jars and metal lids. Awful. So, a decent hotel with nice rooms but seemingly poor environmental practices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, and providing feedback. We do have an active recycling programme in place, so it's disappointing to hear that we were unable to retrieve glass jars for you, and this will be address with the relevant departments. Should you book to stay again please do contact us in advance of your arrival and we will pre-allocate a room with opening windows if this is your preference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury Lancs

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pleasant hotel. Helpful staff. Extremely comfortable bed. Comfortable bar and meeting area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review of your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Sheffield. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East yorkshire

Excellent hotel attentive friendly staff

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Good price for the room good location and attractive hotel
Cons: A hair drier in the room
Location: The hotel for us was ideal with its location and there are pubs restaurants bars and entertainment venues within walking distance
The room was nicely decorated with a nice welcoming homely feel nice and clean and spacious room all areas in the hotel were very clean the staff were very polite and attentive will certainly come back to the hotel again when we are in Sheffield
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Copthorne Sheffield, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the fantastic review of your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Sheffield. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back next time!