Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tyne and Wear

It served our purposes in providing a room for us

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The cleaners did a good job and were friendly .The breakfast was large and included every thing .no need for extras
Cons: Not to sure of cooking facilities
Location: Large cities are near by and the Derbyshire countryside
The bedroom was small and not convenient to sit in to read or watch TV. had to sit on the bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Pleasant Stay

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly and in a quiet location.
Stayed on a night out from work. Ample parking even for my 3.5 ton box van. On arrival was greeted at the bar (by Steve?) and shown to my room. Although the room was small (single room), it was clean as was the ensuite. Towels and toiletries, as well as a good supply of Milk, Tea and Coffe had been left. I partook in a couple of pints of Real Ale before retiring for the night. There was Live Music (mostly 60's) which although I could hear it, it didn't affect me getting to sleep. Breakfast consisted of Tea/Coffee and a decent Fried Breakfast and Toast. Before departing I had a chat with Adrian, the owner. If and when I'm back in the area I wouldn't hesitate to stay at The Dusty Miller.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Black and White

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Bed clean (which is our main concern) but stair carpet was quite grubby and would benefit from a good clean (it hadn't been vacuumed). Kitchen closed when we came back at 8.30pm. It would have been advantageous to have been told when we checked in.. Bar was empty so no atmosphere. Thursday night, there was a rock and roll night with a group playing some good music. A complete change from previous night, it was quite busy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice helpful staff.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Was very nice, staff excellent, rooms clean a little cramped but well worth the cost, entertainment was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire UK

Country Pub

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Very good bar layout. Meals were good prices. Separate door for guests.
Cons: More cereals with less sugar. Lower towel rail in ensuite and some more hooks.
Stayed on a Saturday night when they have live music, so rather noisy, but great for lovers of music. Good breakfast but cereals were more for children, small packets and sugary. Staff very friendly and cheerful. A place we would use again.
4 out of 5
by Bill

Good stopover

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice accommodation, good food in the pub restaurant, very convenient for M1 but none the noise.
4 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lorraine

Adequate for our needs.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The reception was slightly warm. Just gave room details, asked for payment and asked if we wanted breakfast in the morning. The floor seemed to have animal fur all over it as it was the same hair at the entrance. The room is very small so I would use it as somewhere to lay your head overnight as opposed to getting ready for a night out or a special event. I was also told that rooms were to be vacated by 10.30, whereas, on the website it said 11am. On the plus side, the beds were very comfortable (2 single beds) and the shower area was clean although the temperature didn't change when I turned the dial. The full English breakfast was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Budget stay

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Friendly staff, who personally took me up to the room
Cons: Wooden panel containing the kettle and coffee/ tea selections need changing as has signs of rot
Location: Countryside location
I suppose one should not be expecting too much staying at an inn at a budget. Wonderful staff, stayed in a single-room occupancy with was cramped.
2 out of 5
by Jamie

Average

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Room didn't smell very good, but bed was clean.