Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Christmas shopping in Sheffield

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Very little to dislike. Very unique building. Good transport links. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The waiting times for the meal and knowledgeable bar staff.
Location: A short walk through the garrison precinct brings you to a bus and tram terminus. A good Morrisons store built within the garrison grounds.
Booked this specifically for Christmas Shopping as no decent shops where we live! The hotel is the old Garrison, as the name suggests. The room was more than adequate, comfortable bed. Breakfast all you could want, from cereal to the full English, coffee, tea etc. All excellent. Food in the Garrison bar (which is also open to the public) was typical mainstay menu, but good and hot. Good transport facilities nearby (trams and buses) taking you into the centre of Sheffield and to Meadowhall shopping precinct. Coming back from the shops, the tram stops right outside Weatherspoons, which was great after a full day Christmas shopping in Meadowhall. The only gripe was having to wait 45 minutes for two main course meals in the restaurant, one salad, one burger meal, and the restaurant was not particularly busy. Also, the drinks were reasonably priced, however the mixers were almost as expensive as the drinks, eg spirit £2.40, mixer (tonic) £2. Having someone behind the bar who knows the drinks would be helpful e.g. we ordered a gin and tonic, which was fine, and a malt whisky on its own. However the bar tender served admitting she knew nothing about serving spirits, served the malt whisky in a large gin and tonic glass with ice and tonic. I had to correct her on this. We ended up with two bottles of tonic, and the two drinks ended up being more expensive than they should have been.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel right near were we was going for a nigh

Posted Nov 12, 2017
We booked a trip to the dogs on a whim so needed a hotel.found this and it's a pearl of a hotel clean quiet and friendly 🤗🤗
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester

Large family get together

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Lovely room , very comfy, we had a meal with many others the food was excellent, ( great improvement from 3 yrs ago)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Ideal location for the greyhounds

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Booked this as close to Owlerton stadium. Unusual hotel with rooms off a courtyard but very nice, clean and comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Our experience could have been lovely, but....

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Charming exterior, pub and restaurant. Decent food. Also nice staff.
Cons: Rooms should be blocked below the conference if there is a lot of noise. Stop music at 11 p.m., for the sake of other guests.
Location: On the edge of tow my close to the university district, with a quick get away to Yorkshire.
Nice location and quaint. There was a wedding going on. They took over all of the tables in the courtyard, all of the tables in the pub and restaurant. We could only eat after the wedding buffet started, which was around 7:15. Then, the music started. It could be heard from anywhere in the entire hotel. It wasn't stopping till 12:30. We were directly under the dance floor. We got moved at 11:45, when we called, but it was still loud from anywhere. Even with ear plugs, we could not sleep.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
We only stayed over night, so not much time to really say anything ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Only stayed overnight in this hotel but found it very good, room clean and well equipped, very nice helpful staff and the breakfast was lovely.
3 out of 5
by Tracy

Garrison

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Dated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The ambiance of being part of a historic old military barracks.
Cons: The meals we had at dinner were pretty ordinary and tasteless. Breakfast on the other hand was very good.
Location: Apart from a stroll around the general area I can't comment on things to do it's close to a shopping centre and the architecture in general is great!
Easy check in, although there was confusion at first as the hotel indicated they had not received any emails from Expedia regarding our stay even though we had confirmation from Expedia. They did say they had issues with the Expedia booking emails but thought they had been resolved. If our wasn't resolved, how many others are still unresolved? The hotel is quiet and the location in the old garrison is quite beautiful, as were the gardens. Check out was easy, but the fact that the wifi was down almost all the time didn't help me, as a travelling journalist.
4 out of 5
by Wayne

Felt like trumpton fort!

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
A quirky hotel in the grounds of an old military fort. The sandstone is wonderful and the rooms large. Entry is quite confusing & try not to go through the pub if you have mobility issues as there are plenty of steps. Staff very friendly.