Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by stephen

New building is lovely

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel if you get to stay in the newer buildings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms, more room per car parking space, and power points by the bed!
Location: Good location for getting into the city centre.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good for the price. The minuses were the car park is a bit on the small side and the spaces are very narrow, and our rooms were very dark with the dressing tables in the darkest parts, I had to use the window sill in order to see remotely well. Also the shower room could do with updating. Our room was also very warm, we had the fan on all night!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for University visit

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for visiting the University. Staff very friendly Nearly renovated bathroom If car park full, there is some free parking on the road at the front
4 out of 5
by Nigel

Convenient, just about ok on value for money.

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Well placed for University of Sheffield and surrounding srea. Staff very pleasant and effective. Room adequate with stereotypical British hotel decor, though very modern bathroom. Lots of corridors and steps. Superb breakfast, wide choice, excellently cooked and presented, piping hot and thickest bacon rashers for years from, I'm guessing, Yorkshire pigs. Parking ok but terrain and bays not suited to other people's Chelsea tractors or their parking habits - first time I've see someone take up three spaces. Bit pricey for what's on offer.
5 out of 5
by Nicola

Comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Visiting family in local area. Feel decor needs updating but room comfortable and only there one night. Breakfast was delicious and Staff very attentive.
4 out of 5
by Nishant

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Worked out well for me. Very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Elaine

Rutland Sheffield

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had free upgrade to Bridal Suite which was unexpected but gave added luxury and space. We were able to check in early and leave our car in the free car park after checking out. Decor dated but very friendly welcoming hotel which will use again if visit Sheffield.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Service needs work

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with good superior rooms although no air con. The dinning room and bar seemed short staffed and we had to wait 40 mins for a main course despite the restaurant being virtually empty. The food was expensive and my main was barley Luke warm. The wine list and desert menu only provides very limited choice.
1 out of 5
by Richard

Book elsewhere - poor service

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was fine - no parking available - parked on street. Room temperature was set at 34 degrees on entry - hot air only from the system so took a while to cool with open windows. We ate at the restaurant -service was good and food quality was excellent. On the above I'd have given a good review until... Keys are supplied on large lumps of steel to encourage leaving at the 24 hour reception. We did and returned ~2AM from an event to a sign saying please call (number) for the night porter. After 15 minutes of calling both this number and the hotel main line, along with searching the hotel we finally located an apathetic and unapologetic night porter. We were then kept awake by drunken guests in and out of each others rooms and the corridors shouting and screaming until ~4AM. Breakfast the next morning was good, We were not asked how our stay was on check out.