Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms, more room per car parking space, and power points by the bed!
Location: Good location for getting into the city centre.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good for the price. The minuses were the car park is a bit on the small side and the spaces are very narrow, and our rooms were very dark with the dressing tables in the darkest parts, I had to use the window sill in order to see remotely well. Also the shower room could do with updating. Our room was also very warm, we had the fan on all night!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Service needs work

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with good superior rooms although no air con. The dinning room and bar seemed short staffed and we had to wait 40 mins for a main course despite the restaurant being virtually empty. The food was expensive and my main was barley Luke warm. The wine list and desert menu only provides very limited choice.
1 out of 5
by Richard

Book elsewhere - poor service

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was fine - no parking available - parked on street. Room temperature was set at 34 degrees on entry - hot air only from the system so took a while to cool with open windows. We ate at the restaurant -service was good and food quality was excellent. On the above I'd have given a good review until... Keys are supplied on large lumps of steel to encourage leaving at the 24 hour reception. We did and returned ~2AM from an event to a sign saying please call (number) for the night porter. After 15 minutes of calling both this number and the hotel main line, along with searching the hotel we finally located an apathetic and unapologetic night porter. We were then kept awake by drunken guests in and out of each others rooms and the corridors shouting and screaming until ~4AM. Breakfast the next morning was good, We were not asked how our stay was on check out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Good: It was convenient to my temporary work place. Has car park but no CCTV and park at own risk. Has iron in room (helpful for business traveler) but no padding on cheap ironing board, so pressing your shirts get metal imprints of ironing board through. Can easily be rectified by buying a padded better quality ironing board cover. Bad: Some reception staff unprofessional. Noisy floors, hallway and outside noise a problem. Single rooms too small. Showers (wet room) look like a DIY job. Liquid soap dishes mounted too high on the wall - not even convenient for the average man of 5' 10" - why? Glass aprtition too small for the size of the shower basin and shower head, hence get a big water puddle in the bathroom floor out side the partitioned shower basin. The cleaning lady must be fed up cleaning wet towels from the floor daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A great experience, highly recommended

Posted Dec 9, 2016
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in December, and had one breakfast and one evening meal there. Really friendly staff, a nice room, and pleasant dining area with big windows. I will certainly stay here if I am in Sheffield again. I've stayed in a fair few places: I would say this place and its staff have a very authentic feel. It is a fairly short walk to the city centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is acceptable if a little run down, particularly in the corridors. Consistently noisy at night (second stay) - other guests inconsiderate . Bar staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Short break

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Better ventilation and air conditioning in the room. Very warm in the summer heat...
Have stayed in the Rutland before and this was another good stay. Central location close to the university of Sheffield which was ideal. Only down side this time was the lack of car parking due to roadworks in the area and very warm room due to lack of ventilation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Corky from Yorkshire

Bed & dinner

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Pros: The very late bar
Cons: The price
Location: Good but car parking is an issue
Nice room & excellent service but not enough extras for the price. The fish on Sat 07/07 dinner was very dry and got left by several people in our dinner party.