Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham NC

clean, basic bare-bones accomodation.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Low price, very clean, somewhat new feeling. Friendly staff, seemed secure. Thoughtful night manager called me to give instructions for late arrival.
Cons: Have a few pots and pans for the stove with a brush to clean them. Vinyl was peeling off the cabinet fronts corners, needs repair.
Location: Hotel is set back from the highway, so quiet. It's quite far from I 85, not very convenient. There is a shopping center and gas nearby.
I was wanting a simple, basic room to sleep for one night to break up a long road trip. Bed is a mattress on a metal frame with no box spring, but I slept fine. Thin carpeting, no art on the walls, Full kitchen, but no pots pans or plates, no coffeemaker, no closet, no breakfast. Very Spartan, almost like a vacant office. But it was the lowest price in the area and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It would be very economical for a no-frills weekly stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Nice over night stay.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Very clean. Staff was friendly. Affordable. Great for overnight stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Nice friendly staff. Close to Walmart. Close to restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Value Place Shelby. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff for a job well done. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Until then, take care. Sincerely, Ruchin M. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
An average room that was quite adequate for a short stay. The hotel itself is right off the main road and extremely close to many businesses including dining establishments. The only thing that threw me off was getting through the door and nobody at the desk to check in. There are instructions near a phone to call and they do come down to check in very quickly, however. When I checked out there was somebody there. The room was clean and inviting, with a small kitchen area as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Value Place Shelby. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff for a job well done. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Until then, take care. Sincerely, Ruchin M. General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No toilet paper in room.Room smelled like cigs

Posted Feb 1, 2016
There wasn't any toilet paper at all in my room. Room smelt like cigarettes; and entire hotel has a disgusting smell that smells like a cross between Italian food and feet. Loud noises from guests all through the night woke me up continuously. And shower floor had a loud crick in it when I moved, it kept squeaking. Otherwise; room was comfortable. And good thing is the convenience of location of hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shelby, NC

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Friendly staff, convenient location, comfortable clean room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: smell
Location: location was great for me
room was clean and in good shape .had a bad odor in room Hallway smelled real bad and elevator smelled bad. was a great price if they could just do something to help the smell . Had to buy air freshners for room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

WOW, this was cheaper than going home!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: IT was clean, roomy, bigger than many rooms I have stayed in at 70% the cost
Cons: loitering in the parking lot seemed sketchy at first. I would limit this or create a location in the back for recreation or hanging out.
Location: the location was great! A few restaurants and awesome Sushi Bar close that was advertised at the check in desk.
This place was surprising such a nice facility and such a great deal. Room and Meal at a local buffet was under $40. Maybe it was because I was a DreamTrips member but who cares. The room was clean, spacious and was very easy to check in and very convenient. I was able to stay the night on business cheaper than going home and returning the next day! I will stay here again when in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Value Place Shelby. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff for a job well done. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Until then, take care. Sincerely, Ruchin M. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Saturday night stay

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We booked this room on our way to Gatlinburg. The hotel was a newer hotel and rooms were new and clean. The employee checking us in was professional and friendly...every thing else went downhill. When we arrived there was 10 or so people hanging in front of the hotel drinking and partying. We overlooked it and proceeded in since we had already paid online for our reservations. We got to the room and went to bed around 12 midnight after arriving at 1130pm. We heard people screaming and talking loudly in the halls, a constant thumping noise in the ceiling...(maybe a leaky pipe??). Someone's TV in the room next door very loudly echoed through our room. The air conditioner didn't stay on long enough to drown any of the noise out. We got up very early the next morning very tired and proceeded to Gatlinburg.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Terrible!

Posted Feb 20, 2015
full of extremely loud people loitering, the fire alarms went off during the night and the overall experience was awful!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by ValuePlace GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel! We strive to uphold our core values and provide every guest with an affordable, clean and safe stay. We do keep it simple, but it is done better. We apologize for the loud noise and the fire alarms. The alarms went off due to smoke in the room from people cooking, we strive to keep our guests safe so the alarm went off as a warning of smoke and it allows us to check to make sure the guests are safe. The guests loitering has been addressed and this has minimized over the last few weeks. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Safe travels!