Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Visiting relatives in Shelbyville

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Location great for us. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was under construction at the time, but was clean and orderly.
Cons: Breakfast should be available until 10:00 a.m. - 6-9 am is way too early to stop serving! Also, not so sure we liked the memory foam mattresses.
Location: Science Hill is very close and a "must" for lunch (try the trout).
Overall, it was a good place to stay. The location was close to shopping and restaurants, so it wasn't a problem when you missed breakfast at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Melissa Maddox, Hotel Management
Hello, Susan. We thank you for staying with us! Just wanted to let you know that the lobby renovations are complete, and in my opinion, look AMAZING! I'm sorry to hear that the mattress didn't suit you. The next time you stay we will try a different type, as our location offers a couple different types of mattress styles. As far as breakfast availability, I have mentioned it to our GM, and we are taking your consideration in to account. We really look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithfield, NC

Super staff!

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Exterior appearance, lobby, bathroom.
Cons: TV service (DirecTV?) did not appear to be an HD feed.
Location: Easy access to both Louisville and Lexington via interstate.
We were really impressed by the helpfulness and professionalism of staff, both before check in, at check in, during the stay, and at check out. Staff contacted me my phone in advance of the stay to insure that our requirements were met. Staff member arranged for us to have adjoining rooms on the first floor near an exit to make walking our dogs easier. When we had difficulty with our TV remote, a staff member immediately came to our room with a new remote. Property is very attractive and is definitely the most enjoyable stay that we have had at a Best Western.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Melissa Maddox, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for such kind words about our staff, we are very proud of our team here. I think it shows. I apologize about the trouble with the TV remote, and am glad to hear the trouble was taken care of immediately. We strive hard to make sure that our guest are happy and comfortable. As far as the HD, we are intending on transitioning in the very near future. We look forward to you coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from , KY

Nice Owners, Lobby Being Remodeled

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Cost, Location, Parking, Handicap Accessibility, and Consistent Hot Water Cons: Room floors were dirty. Lobby floors being tiled. Poor quality room appliances. Expedia did not send to them our 2 night reservation. The desk employee was rude and wouldn't listen to me when I said I had proof I'd paid for 2 nights. She charged me a 3rd night but when I spoke with the Owners they fixed the problem, apologized, and told me to call them direct in the future and I would get a better rate. Used travel websites twice and been let down twice. Won't use them ever again.
4 out of 5
by Maggie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WY

Passing through Shelbyville

Posted Dec 22, 2016
This was a horrible experience beginning with the horrible smell of cigarette smoke as soon as you walk in, followed all the way into our room. We were extremely upset this hotel had NO cribs at all. We had been on the road for the last 24 hours with no sleep in that time and had to find a way to get rest and allow our infant son a safe place to sleep. We were extremely upset to find we couldn't get through to Expedia to process a refund so we could go over to the next hotel which offered a pack n play for our baby. After waiting in the parking lot for 20 minutes on hold with Expedia, we gave up and went into our room to find worse. There was a mess on the AC unit, dried on and running down towards the floor. The bathroom vanity had the same. We had small children and planned to get them a quick bath before bed and found the bathtub NASTY with hair in the tub and obviously had not been touched by cleaning staff. The tile floor left us without sleep through the night as I lay in bed with my baby to make sure it wouldn't roll off, having no crib and a tile floor. All in all, this was a horrible experience and complete waste of our money and time as we had another 6 hours of driving ahead with small children.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff! Comfortable room!

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comfy beds, loved the ac/heating unit. Even though it was cold outside I need it cold inside to sleep and the ac unit was powerful and worked great! Front desk woman was fantastic!!! So nice and even called us to make sure the room was ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay, lovely hotel!!

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
This will be the only place I stay on future trips to Shelbyville. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and the coffee was great. My room was comfortable and very clean. The hotel was busy but it was also quiet and very relaxing. I can't wait for my next trip.