Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Unpleasant smell

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The room that we stayed in smelled like smoke and a combination of the smell of old clothes and fabric.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your feedback. I apologize for the smell of smoke you experienced on your stay. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment and I am sorry if the smell compromised your experience. We will follow up on your concerns to ensure we are doing everything possible to minimize the impact to our guests. Thank you again for your candid feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice Facility Convenient to the highway.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Location of handicapped rooms
Location: Convenient to necessary shopping , restaurants and the highway
Booked reservation well in advance for a 1st floor handicapped room, when we arrived approx. 7:30 pm the only available handicapped room that was available was on the 2nd floor way down the hallway from the elevators.This made for a long walk to the room for myself and my wife who is in a wheelchair. I feel handicapped rooms should be located on the first floor or at least close to the elevators on the other floors The room was acceptable except for the placement of the bed which left very little room to get in or out on the right side.the room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jack, thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. We are glad you liked our location and courteous service. That being said, I am sorry we failed to accommodate you in the room of your choice and the inconvenience it caused. We hope you will give us another chance so we can serve you much better. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

About as expected except for the barking dogs

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Cons: Don't allow pets or have only 1 dog per corridor so that they don't bark at each other. I can get barking dogs at home don't need to pay for them
The room and hotel itself was not fancy but clean, functional, and not too expensive which is about all I was looking for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. Although you were overall satisfied with your stay, we apologize for the dog barking and the disturbance this caused. In the future, if this happens please let our front desk staff know as we do have a pet policy so our guests are not disturbed. It was good to have you here, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Met my needs

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Was nice to have an accessible bathroom with well placed transfer bars in the tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We appreciate your review and are delighted that your visit with us was a great one. It was good to have you here, and we hope you will come and see us again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Unauthorized Extension of Stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: quiet most nights
Cons: staff at the front desk 24 hours each day to address travelers who leave in the early morning hours
The room is stayed in was OK and the staff I spoke with were pleasant however after I left the motel some unauthorized person extended my stay and I was billed and additional $550 for nights I was not even in the state. If you book through a third party, demand a receipt at checkout!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby,CT

Not Bad

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The price was good...but the smell true the all hotel was bad...The hotel is clean but is just the smell...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. It’s nice to know you found us to be a good value, but we are sorry for the smell you experienced during your stay. I have immediately brought this to the attention of my housekeeping team for review and action. We appreciate your feedback and hope the positive aspects of your visit will bring you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The hotel had kitchen equipment. Handy if you wanted to eat in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your kind review of Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County. We are pleased to know you had a comfortable stay and that the in-room amenities left you with a good impression. Thanks once more for allowing us to be of service, and we hope to have the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charged Two Nights for No-Show

Posted Jul 20, 2017
I booked this hotel through Expedia for two nights. The policy through Expedia was to charge one night's stay for a no-show. However, the hotel did not automatically refund the money to my credit card for the second night; I had to call Expedia twice. Therefore, i would not recommend booking this hotel because their accounting cannot be trusted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the charges. We assure you that this was not deliberate, and we will take steps within our training procedures to ensure we do not repeat our mistakes. We hope you will consider us again. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearwater,fl

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Carpet was filthy. Would not stay there again. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. Unfortunately, we missed something during this process, and for that, we sincerely apologize. We are working with our Housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily checklists to make sure this isn't repeated. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a better experience on your next stay. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem MA

Excellent room - exceeded expectations.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Rooms with kitchenette, wifi, free parking.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Apparently no restaurants nearby - I was given a list of take out places that would deliver.
The room was excellent, but the "free breakfast" advertised was not acceptable. Free coffee and wrapped soggy muffins is not a free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and that your well-appointed room along with the kitchenette made it even more memorable. However, we are sorry that our breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We will be sure to share your feedback with the concerned team as we plan any changes to the same. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, General Manager