Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff on site overnight. Better attention to housekeeping when flipping rooms
Location: Came for the Luray Triathlon races at nearby Lake Arrowhead--which is a gorgeous park. Kids had fun at the Luray caverns
NO Staff on site overnight. Important information ... as you'll see. At check in, our room for four had only two towels and a remote that looked like it had been dropped off the balcony. Both issues were taken care of moments after calling the front desk. The room was small but clean and having the refrigerator and microwave was nice. During our stay, the hotel staff was often loitering on the stairs (the only way to the second floor), and they left their carts all over the walkways, making it like walking through a maze--even late into the afternoon. The day we were to check out we needed to leave early in the morning for a race. Our door wouldn't open. We double checked our inside locks, but even then, we were locked INSIDE our room. We called the front desk. Someone said they were on their way. Five minutes later there still was no one so we called again. Because there's no one on site, the manager had to drive from who-knows-where to come get us out--but not before grilling us about why we were so upset about being locked in our room and what was our big hurry anyway? We finally got out of our room (thank God there wasn't a fire or medical emergency?!!) and to our race. Overall not bad, but enough issues that for next year's races, we'll stay elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by John L , Hotel Management
I will personally look into this. Our night staff is to be on the premise most of the night other then if they are checking on one of our storage facility's, or doing other hotel business. I will also look into the issue with the door, we recently had all our doors maintained and refinished by a local company. I will also look into why the housekeeping carts were not kept out of guest way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The people!
Location: Luray Caverns, museums, good places to eat, great parks
We had a wonderful experience when staying at the Luray Best Western. The staff was all very kind and eager to to help us in any way. The rooms were cleaned quickly and well. The manager was very professional and thorough, handling questions patiently and going out of his way to help us. We will stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by john L , Hotel Management
Thank you , I am glad to her our managers and staff our doing a good job and we look forward to you staying with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Closeness to Lurray Caverns
Cons: Eliminate smoking.
The room was smokey, even though we requested a smoke free room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by john L , Hotel Management
I am sorry about that, all of our rooms are non smoking, but sometimes people do still choose to smoke in them even though there not allowed to, I will look into that all of our smoke protocols are being followed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Needs major updating!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The staff was nice! We got in late after a long drive. Booked it on Expedia had a 3 out a 5 so figured it would be decent for a quick rest in the middle of our ride! Wrong!! The room smelled awful of cigarette smoke. The beds were not that clean stains on sheets and hair on beds. The fridge was leaking water out of it. The outlet by the sink was loose and falling out. It shouldn't be a 1 star motel..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by John L , Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that it sounds like you had a ruff stay . I will look into the smoke smell, all of our rooms are none smoking, but some people still chose to smoke even though they are not allowed. I will check to make sure our staff is following all our smoke procedures. I will also see why the sheets did not appear clean, we recently replaced all of out linens. I will follow up with maintnce about emptying the fridge trays.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We went to the Luray Caverns and hiked at Shenandoah. This hotel was closely. It had a clean pool open until 9 or 10 pm, easy check in, a wifi password, a fridge, clean room, Pantene shampoo and 20 % off coupon for breakfast at restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by john, Hotel Management
I am glade that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you can stay with us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was great - but that's it. Flaw in Expedia

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly and very helpful, especially night-shift desk.
Cons: Cleanliness and partnerships with 3rd dealers (not hotel's fault, but...)
Location: Luray Caverns is AMAZING!!!
Major flaw in the Expedia policies and partnerships. Beds had a bunch of hair in them, pillows were stained, smell of urine in bathroom over-powering, and bathroom filthy with BUGS! tried to get another room, there wasn't one. In a normal situation, a hotel may compensate for something like this - but since it's booked through Expedia, they can't do anything about it. They don't even have receipts to see cost of room. Couldn't provide any help or detail b/c it goes through 3rd party. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by john L , Hotel Management
I am sorry about this, But since your stay we have changed many of our housekeeping staff members and are retraining the remaining ones.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Thre man at the front desk was really helpful in suggesting a place to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by front desk, Hotel Management
I am glad that our staff was able to be helpful,, ill let them know to keep up the good work .
4 out of 5
by Jami from Charlotte North Carolina

Great

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Had an awesome time, the hotel was perfect for us. Going to the restaurant for breakfast and coffee was great. Everyone was so friendly. Definitely will come back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by front desk, Hotel Management
I am glade to hear you had a good stay with us and hope you can stay again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 16, 2016
More like a motel, but still nice. Within 5 mins of Luray caverns. The room was pretty clean and well kept and the front desk people were nice
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by front desk , Hotel Management
I am glad that you found our facility clean, our location convenient and our staff nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Location: location was the only redeeming aspect as we were a 5 min drive to the Caverns
Stains on pillow cases, towels, and face cloth...not to mention the questionable stains on the top blanket. Carpet should have been changed 10-15 years ago. Hair dryer did not work, but staff did allow my wife to use the one in the next room over. Bathroom very dated. internet was spotty at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by front dek , Hotel Management
I am sorry that it sounds like you had a ruff stay. I will personally look into all the issues, we recently replaced all of the pillows, pillow cases, towels, face cloths. All of our carpets in our facility are less than 5 years old, so would have been hard to have changed them before we even had them, and they were professionally cleaned very recently. I will look into the issue with the Wi-Fi, we recently upgraded our system and are now running on a ap9 system.