Ratings based on 977 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Too far from Rt81 Made it more difficult to find

Posted Aug 30, 2016
too far within the town of Staunton. No major complaints with the hotel. Light on the continental breakfast although it served its purpose.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty bed linens

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Comforters on both beds had stains all over them & one was ripped in places. Room smelled bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to town

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This was a good place for the price. Staff was helpful & pleasant, room wasn't fancy but it was clean. Mattress was a bit too firm but ok. Located only a couple of blocks from the historic downtown area & the trolley/bus hub was right across the street. Would have no problem staying here again.
2 out of 5
by Sangam from New york, ny

Smelly room...rest dont matter

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
The room smelled...and it turns out it was not just us...we can talk all about amenities but smelly room trumps everything else...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2016
Basically Clean. Appears a little run down. Breakfast was light. No fitness center.
1 out of 5
by Holly

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was terrible. The front desk clerk was sitting on the couch talking on the phone and finished his call before coming to the front desk. Then later, when I asked to switch rooms due to noisy neighbors, I was told no. After an hour, I insisted, and he obliged, but when I expressed my dissatisfaction at the service, he yelled at me. The shower head was shorter than me. I am 5'5".
3 out of 5
by Bernard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by james from Va

Pleasant stay

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Second time there this spring a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Larisa from Wyoming

may stay at HJ was fantastic

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Our group of traveling bat biologists found the stay comfortable, cozy, and thoroughly enjoyable. The rooms were quiet, balcony provided a pleasant breeze, and conveniently located a few blocks from great downtown restaurants, bars, and music venues. We also enjoyed the delicious farm to table cafe across from the hotel. Rakesh was a fantastic host and even helped us with some of our projects, the entire staff was very accommodating, friendly, and flexible with our unusual requests. We hope we can return!!
5 out of 5
by Aaron from Great location. Great food and great local music.

great staff!

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and even lended an extra hand when I was cutting pipe for a job.