Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Dawn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kathy H from Salem, VA

Buckhorn Inn

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
The Buckhorn Inn is a beautiful, relaxing, historic place. It has been well maintained and we had a wonderful time. It is isolated and the perfect spot to relax. We drove to Churchville for dinner and to Staunton for shopping/exploring. The innkeepers are lovely and served an amazing breakfast. The Thanksgiving buffet (additional cost) was fabulous!! The food was all home-cooked and was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting this lovely family and their home again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hanover va

200 year old bed and breakfast

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: the age and how well its cared for . very original
Cons: more dining options
Location: any thing you like to do in the mountains is here ....hiking ,caves apples( in season) many civil war sites ...lots of antique shops
Greeted by the owner and given a tour.the history is quite interesting. personal letters from the past . . We went in the fall to see the colors , did some hiking, and toured weyers cave .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna, VA

Lovely place to relax, stars shine brightly

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Family atmosphere made my kids feel welcome, and also was a great place for them to explore in the woods, look at rocks in the stream, pet the cat.
Location: very close to Staunton where there's the Woodrow Wilson Library, an amazing park called Gypsy Hill which boasts a duck pond with beautiful swans.
Lovely space away from it all, but just a quick drive into Staunton. Host was congenial as were his kids. The property had a calming effect on our children, and the host's children were particularly calm and friendly. I think the proximity to the forest and sense of quiet over there can be very good for kids. They had a nice swing and a sandbox for the kids, as well as chickens, rabbits (with baby bunnies at the time of our visit, and a cat who also just had kittens. So, this was a great place for the family to unwind. The room was perfect for a family of 4, two day beds and one king/queen for the parents.
5 out of 5
by Janice from Columbia, South Carolina

Delightful Stay

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
There were four of us and we all rated them top notch. Clean, courteous, good breakfast, snacks at night, friendly. Super fresh linens, smelled good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Getaway

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Nice chance to getaway and relax. Easy access to Staunton. The place has interesting history and therefore is old with character, yet comfortable. Innkeeper, Sylvia and her family are wonderful hosts. Yes, we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great B&B by the mountains

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Enjoyed the experience. Sylvia and Harlan were amazing hosts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bluegrass State

One regret

Posted May 18, 2015
The only regret I have is that we could not stay longer. We were in town only 1 night for graduation at mbc. The location was off the beaten path and perfect for relaxation. The Yoders are wonderful host and the place was immaculate. The homemade bread was great. When you go plan to stay for a while.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like B and B's, you will like this

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
Great place in the middle of no where. The owners are wonderful people who made us feel at home. Our room was spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
by Kathleen from Virginia

Lovely bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
The Yoder family were so welcoming and warm. They put together a lovely happy birthday package for us and the cake was delicious. In fact, the breakfast was amazing both mornings! We would definitely stay there again.The only drawback is that it is far from town and the road very dark at night.