Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hanover va

200 year old bed and breakfast

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: the age and how well its cared for . very original
Cons: more dining options
Location: any thing you like to do in the mountains is here ....hiking ,caves apples( in season) many civil war sites ...lots of antique shops
Greeted by the owner and given a tour.the history is quite interesting. personal letters from the past . . We went in the fall to see the colors , did some hiking, and toured weyers cave .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vienna, VA

Lovely place to relax, stars shine brightly

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Family atmosphere made my kids feel welcome, and also was a great place for them to explore in the woods, look at rocks in the stream, pet the cat.
Location: very close to Staunton where there's the Woodrow Wilson Library, an amazing park called Gypsy Hill which boasts a duck pond with beautiful swans.
Lovely space away from it all, but just a quick drive into Staunton. Host was congenial as were his kids. The property had a calming effect on our children, and the host's children were particularly calm and friendly. I think the proximity to the forest and sense of quiet over there can be very good for kids. They had a nice swing and a sandbox for the kids, as well as chickens, rabbits (with baby bunnies at the time of our visit, and a cat who also just had kittens. So, this was a great place for the family to unwind. The room was perfect for a family of 4, two day beds and one king/queen for the parents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B by the mountains

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Enjoyed the experience. Sylvia and Harlan were amazing hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bluegrass State

One regret

Posted May 18, 2015
The only regret I have is that we could not stay longer. We were in town only 1 night for graduation at mbc. The location was off the beaten path and perfect for relaxation. The Yoders are wonderful host and the place was immaculate. The homemade bread was great. When you go plan to stay for a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, IN

Country Experience

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel was a stage coach stop in the early 1800s. We liked the friendly service and a clean comfortable room in a historic building.
Location: Staunton VA and several other nearby towns have attractive historic districts. The hotel is located in a National Forrest which is great for hiking.
The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed the history and19th century charm of the hotel . We arrived after nearby restaurants were closed so the hotel owner prepared a tasty supper for us. A wide variety of choices were available for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Claymont, DE

Delightful

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Clean, homey, historic.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Fall foliage.
My wife, mother-in-law and I visited the inn during the government shutdown in 2013. The facility is clean and homey, and the couple running the inn are dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. And oh my, the breakfast was magnificent! The best at any B&B I've ever visited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by colin from uk

Rural experience

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Quirkiness of it.
Cons: Not applicable
Location: Very rural and isolated.
This is a very homely B&B in a genuine old property of a quirky nature. Breakfast was excellent, all home cooked. Dining in the evening is very limited in the area, nearest restaurant, very basic, is seven miles away. Four guests eat with the family, unexpected and unusual. Lady running it was very nice and gave us a history tour of the house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Don S from Charlotte, NC

Sold me on the Inn Experience

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: the rustic feel; the sense of a prior time;
Cons: computer access, if needed, but slow
Location: Natural chimney is nearby where we attended a music festival.
We checked in around 10 pm but no problem. Sylvia was gracious, took her time showing us around and sharing information. The wide, varying width board on the floor, the winding staircase, the clawfoot bathtub, .... all made it very memorable. The burned floor board in front of the fireplace surely has a story behind it since this was an inn where the stage coach would stop with passengers. Sylvia truely opened her home to use and in no time you felt very comfortable just walking around, sitting on the porch with the hummingbirds, ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Warmth and charm

Posted Sep 25, 2012
I felt very much at home, was treated like part of the family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Framingham, MA

Good for nature lovers

Posted Jul 30, 2012
The family owns the hotel, so the atmosphere is very friendly... The place is beautiful. Will go there again.