Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Hotel was clean and provided a comfortable place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, OH

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: beautifully decorated inside for Christmas
Location: great location to old Winchester downtown, we could walk to shops, cafes and the library
It was a very quiet room with the most comfortable beds. I had to be carefull stepping into the bathroom because there was a lip that could make a person fall. Otherwise I loved the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A hotel with local character

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Reflects the local charm of Old Winchester.
Cons: Spruce up the hallways; grout the bathtub marble.
Location: Great location in downtown Old Winchester; near to fine walking mall with lots of shops and places to get a bite.
We stayed one night at the Geo. Washington Hotel and enjoyed it very much. Were on a lengthy road trip. The hotel delivered on the most important basic -- a clean, comfortable place to stay over for the night after a long drive. Plus the bed was divine; great night's sleep. But, in addition to basic comfort, the hotel delivers something else -- a great sense of local character. It's close to the pedestrian mall in Old Winchester, so we could easily do some sightseeing in the short time we had in the morning. It's a charming, old Southern town, and the hotel reflects this pleasant and special character. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a comfortable bar off the lobby, where we enjoyed a relaxing drink after a long day's drive. All in all, a fine stay and would recommend for anyone who wants a hotel that reflects the distinct and charming nature of its locality and who doesn't want just another cookie-cutter, they-all-look-alike hotel. The only reason I don't give this a full-five score is because the hall furnishings are a little tired, as was the marble tiling in the bath. Otherwise, excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to find. Easy to park. Very close to downton

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Personal in the bar is fantastic and live music very fun. Fodd was good We had a great time. Is good ti see full families enjoying..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

One Night

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Parking...
Location: Right by the "outdoor mall"...
Everything was great. Nice views. Pool and hot tub great! Two blocks from the mall. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bar downstairs was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Markham ON

Elegant and classy traditional hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Its location and its graceful quality.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Ideal location just two blocks from a charming and historical pedestrian mall.
Located in the perfect spot for anyone wishing to walk downtown Winchester and all it has to offer. The hotel has aged gracefully with a lovely lobby area and spectacular bar just opposite the check in area. Our room was gorgeous with high ceilings, mammoth bathroom with double sinks, cornice molding and modern conveniences. We found the hotel very quiet and very clean. Would love to stay here again, very soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

OK hotel. Convenient

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Love the convenience to Old town Winchester. The building is beautiful with a very nicely appointed lobby.
Cons: Just stop nickel and diming the customers instead just raise your price those couple of bucks charged for parking and the room safe. Move minifridge.
Location: Old town Winchester is very cool. Lot of good shopping good restaurants. There is always something going on in Winchester.
Hotel was OK. We checked in without fanfare or drama. So far so good untill they tell us there is a charge for parking. This is Winchester for crying out loud parking is abundant. Hotel lobby is beautiful nicely decorated so that's nice. We got to our room it's decorated OK nothing special or outstanding except there against the wall by the bathroom is a minifridge sitting on the floor with a microwave on top. It just looked extremely tacky. Look in the closet there is a nice safe for valuables that's pretty cool then read the instructions where we were informed there would be an additional charge for the safe. They'll take the charge off if you ask but pretty crappy really. Room was pretty comfortable beds were comfortable enough maybe a little hard but not terrible. The problem was the stupid minifridge which ran all night long making just enough noise to be annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

bad food

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
This was our second trip to Winchester. I highly urge you to use the hotel but don't use their dining facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, charming hotel.

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Location. Charming.
Cons: Room service. Although Shannon is amazing. Sunday was when we had our issues.
We truly enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. New manager at the restaurant so there were some room service issues. walking distance to old town and the bars and restaurants. We will stay again.