Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Very well placed, central location. Easy access to subway, shopping areas, tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kotzebue, AK

Hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: It's proximity to so many stores and restaurants.
Cons: I would like to see an expanded variety of things to eat for breakfast.
Location: You can shop at numerous stores. The palace is nearby. The subway system is quite close to the hotel.
The Rose Shenyang Hotel is in the center of the shopping district. It's close to all sorts of restaurants and interesting parks. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Queensland, Australia

Nice hotel. Great location. Helpful staff.

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent. Friendly staff with some English ability. Comfortable bright rooms.
Cons: Cigarette ash on carpet and sofa still there from previous tenants. Windows are full length but need cleaning outside.
Location: Walk straight out of front door into mall and subway entrance. Imperial Palace Museum 5 minute walk.
Enjoyed my stay at the Rose hotel. Good value for a four star hotel. A light in the bathroom failed and once I indicated this to the cleaning lady a maintenance man arrived and fixed it inside 30 minutes. I stayed on the 7th floor. Bed sheets and bathroom were clean but sofa and living area were still a little dirty. It was 20 below zero outside but room heating was very good. I would stay at this hotel again if I went to Shenyang.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from NY

Not a bad hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2013
I recently stayed at the rose hotel for two weeks with my new wife. It was a little dated but nice. The staff visits to the room were a little unusual. They usually came in around 10 am to clean, change towels, supply you with two bottles of water. Then we would get a second visit by cleaning manager around 1 pm checking on cleaning staff and the another by the cleaning staff if the manager found something. There were some inconsitancies with the cleaning because the would only spend 2 minutes then they were gone. The down side was the lack of wifi. They had it but you needed to continue to log in I must have logged in about 20 times a day because my wife an I depended on a translator for a lot of our conversation. It was almost nonexsitance on both saterdays for some reason. If you are looking for any English this is not your place. One staff member could speak it and he said they have lost all their English speaking staff and have not replaced. On the morning of check out the desk staff member tried to Speak but he only knew how to ask if I wanted my bill and could not understand anything other than yes or no. If it was not for my Chinese wife I would have not even been able to check in. The location is great train, two shopping malls, and many resterants just out side your door. I will be willing to stay again but only because I have someone to help with the communications. I plan on setting up my own personal wifi next time because they do have a direct internet.
5 out of 5
by lcs from Singapore

located in one of 3 major shopping districts

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels
Very good location. Subway entrance is within 10m from the hotel. Good restaurant at 3rd floor. Buffet breakfast at RMB20, with 10 hot dishes and more than 10 cold dishes. Dinner of 3 dishes that is good enough for 2-3 people is around RMB40-50.There is a travel desk where you can book local tour to Changbeishan, Dalian, red sea beach, etc. The room condition is above average: 2 super twin bed, dressing table, LCD TVs, 2 chairs with small round table, and space is still adequate. The fridge in my room was not cold and the electronic safe was not working. But it was OK for my 10 days stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Yorktown, VA

Good location, reasonable hotel for the price.

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: AC was ineffective
Location: very convenient, on main shopping street, next to subway stop and short walk from imperial palace.
Very good location on main shopping street and short walk from imperial palace. Right on a subway stop so very convenient. Room was quite clean by Chinese standards. Bed was firm, Chinese style, but not as hard as some business hotels. Shower worked well. Staff were helpful but not all had English skills. Air conditioning didn't seem to do much but at least one window could be opened to let in some air.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Singapore

Good rate, location but dirty towel

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Good location
Cons: Dirty towels
Location: Good
Situated in good location, staff is quite helpful but most couldn't speak English, kept insisting that there's wifi in the room but couldn't connect it at all except the lobby area, I strongly recommend you bring your own towels, they look dirty, overall it's ok if you think about their rate and location and the metro station is just right in front of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Australia

nice stay in Shenyang

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Location, views, desk staff
Cons: no coffee, furnishings a bit tired, breakfast finished by 9.30, which is a bit early on weekends
Location: right where you want to be
Superb location, right in the centre, and great views from the upper floors.Very good staff on front desk, but cleaners only average. Breakfast was not bad, but for $3, hey. Big gripe was hot orange juice and no coffee at breakfast or in the rooms. Good street food, food court, and good restaurant food at the door. Because it is in a mall the concierge cannot call a taxi for you, but subway station is right outside. Great dumpling restaurant across the road
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Silver Spring, MD, USA

A very good hotel for a 7 - 10 day stay

Posted Nov 26, 2012
I have selected this hotel four times. It's near all the stores and restaurants you would ever need. An ancient palace is nearby. There are many street vendors selling interesting food, including the popular fruit-on-a-stick. I will stay at this hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2012 on Hotels