Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by phil w from texas, usa

Good hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels
This is my second stay at this hotel. Excellent service. Restaurant is good. Bar is ok. Location is excellent, next to ferry port and metro station. Also, close to Sea World.
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Smifsud from Hong Kong

Great service, great location, excellent price

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. It's close to the ferry and very convenient. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We booked the executive suite which was very big and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel. There were a few restaurants in close vicinity but apart from that there is nothing else there. The hotel could be enhance with a pool bar or cafe.
3 out of 5
by Ron from Portland OR

Ok hotel; not a 4 star though

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Location to ferry port
Cons: Updated furnishings, a less rigid bed. Room had a very slight musty smell which contributed to its 'dated' feel.
Location: Close to ferry port to Hong Kong, Shenzhen subway stop, and to Seaworld area
The hotel, ostensibly a 4 star hotel, has satisfactory rooms but with rather hard mattresses. The decor in the room I stayed in is a bit dated (a la 1970's) and not up to the standards or expectations for an international 4 star hotel but adequate. Small extras typically provided by 4 and 5 star hotels such as bathroom amenities, were lacking (except at additional cost). I stayed in an executive room which was spacious. The hotel is extremely convenient to the ferry port at Shekou, which connects to Hong Kong. It's a 2 minute walk to the ferry port, as well as a 2 minute walk to the Shenzhen subway system. It's also about a 5-7 minute walk to the Seaworld area where there are many restaurants, bars and a few shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gary from New York, USA

This is a good hotel and convenient ferry service

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Nan Hai for many years - it is not 5 star but the convenient location makes it a good choice for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay but not first choice.

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Hotel is okay HOWEVER it's dated. First, there's no WiFi in the room. You have to go to the designated Internet area in the lobby and huddle with other hotel quests to check emails. Second, the rooms and the hallways haven't been updated in years. The guest floors are overall dark and dreary. AND our bathroom smelled like urine indicating that the rooms don't get cleaned thoroughly. The food buffet is okay and service there is good. The pool is clean and underutilized. But okay food and clean pool are not enough to get a higher rating for this property. We chose this hotel because it is located near the ferry port. We were able to travel from Shenzhen to Hong Kong Airport without too much delay. However, if there was another hotel choice nearby or a better way to get to the airport, we would not have stayed at the Nan Hai.
4 out of 5
by phil from Texas, USA

Excellent service

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Apparently, it was Shekou, Shenzhen's first 5 star hotel. It maintains much of its former grandoure but its age shows through, much like the high school homecoming queen at her fifty year high school reunion. The service is excellent with an extreamly helpfully staff. The rooms are huge with a sitting room. There is a restaurant and bar on site. The location is, literally, next door to the Hong Kong ferry port, a metro station, and local shops and restaurants. The area has a large concentration of expats and stores, restaurants, and bars for expats. Only unfavorable review is of the standard, rock hard mattresses. Also, I was told that the hotel is slated for demolition in October of 2013 so you may wish to confirm that before you book. Otherwise, I would highly suggest this hotel.