Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Good value clean hotel and location is near to bussines center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Good service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping and city view sightseeing, especially electronics shopping
Good Location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chewy from singapore

Excellent hotel, few minutes to metro station.

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Spacious and clean!
Walking distance to metro station. Nearby shops and eateries and very near to the electronics malls on huaqiang bei. The hotel staffs are very nice, they have excellent service, they even go to the extra mile to help us get the best experience! The cleanliness of the hotel is so good! I really enjoyed my stay! Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Clean Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Generally a nice hotel... couple problems for me personally: 1. Breakfast had to be purchased separately. 2. its located near a heavy traffic area. So during rush hour, its hard to get to or from the hotel with taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from australia

Great

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Room comfortable very nice great location and popular ask taxis easy find helpful staff would use again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from australia

Good

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Good central walking local parks close by people generally helpful and taxi anywhere good price but hard catch during peak times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2013
very nice hotel and location in the center of Futian district. nearby many resturants and electronics market. close to subway station. i recomend it to you and sure will go back there for all my upcoming business trips.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Feb 20, 2013
Pros: The staff and 1930s "Old Shanghai" theme
Cons: The rooms
Location: Couldn't be better. The SEG, the Airport and the HK/Luohu crossing are all on the Luobao MTR line that runs right past the hotel.
Oh dear Shanghai Hotel; what has happened to you. Disappointing is truly the word. I have stayed at the Shanghai four or five times in the last three years and have said some good things about you. This time I had enough after three days and moved next door to the Grand Skylight Hotel. Your problem is that your rooms at the back (the square rooms) have all been refurbished in recent years but the rooms at the front and sides (the curved rooms) have never been touched. If your guests get a room at the back they are in for a pleasant and comfortable stay. If they are unfortunate enough to get a room at the front or side they will be staying in conditions that are little short of disgusting (for the price). And the rub is, your guests pay the same price whichever room they get. They shouldn't have to complain that they have nowhere to put their clothes except to throw them on the filthy floor; while someone who paid the same price gets a decent room with storage space. Either renovate ALL your rooms or reduce the price of those you are unwilling to renovate. But for me, it is much easier to trundle my suitcase next door to the Grand Skylight Hotel. Sure it costs a bit more but the standard of the rooms and the uniformity across the board is more than worth the difference. And when you convert the difference into your own currency, it amounts to the equivalent of a few beers a day. But the staff at Shanghai try their best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel.

Posted Nov 23, 2012
Fantastic hotel. Five star service from a four star rated hotel. Great location and friendly staff. I love this hotel so much that I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David-In-China from UK

My Preferred Hotel In Shenzhen Now

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: The room staff. Very friendly, eager to please and generally helpful.
Cons: Carpets in the rooms a bit grubby.
Location: Ideal. Close to Metro and buses. Central to most things. Lots of both cheap and expensive restaurants. Nice park next door.
I first stayed at the Shanghai Hotel last year and based on that experience I stayed again this year. I will be back again in a couple of months time. It is now my preferred hotel in Shenzhen. I am sure there are better hotels in Shenzhen -- but inevitably costing a lot more. In this price range, you are unlikely to get better than this in central Shenzhen. The food and drink in the two hotel restaurants tend to be more expensive than outside. Try them once by all means; then eat outside. Across the road there is a good range of varied styles of eating places. The only thing the Shanghai Hotel could improve on would be to wash the carpets in the rooms more frequently. They tend to get bit grubby. But that's all.