Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Cons: the heat in our room was not consistant
Stayed here while buying a house! Had great meals and enjoyed the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Lisa White, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Wonderful to hear! Did you by chance report your heating unit not working? We would have been happy to fix this for you. We hope this doesn't discourage you from staying with us in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hoston

Insufficient dinner staff

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Hot tub out of order. not a three star. At best a 2.5 star hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the young lady at the front desk she had personality plus.
Cons: New paint , comforter , bed and carpet.
Location: Nothing to do after dark
In my opinion this is not a 3.5 but perhaps a 2 star place. Both my daughter and I felt the room smelled terrible and had to get air fresher for the second room we got. The first room smelled like cigarettes and the second one no better. There were other problems but we were to tire to leave since we had already paid for the room and it was late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for what we needed!

Posted May 11, 2016
Since we were touring Antietam battlegrounds we wanted a clean,nice facility somewhere, good and safe to sleep that had a restaurant and bar and exercise facilities...... it was the perfect ticket. Plus, the food was great for dinner and breakfast. We would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Very nice hotel - clean, nicely decorated, comforatable beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Just average

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Very quiet. Breakfast restaurant on property.
Cons: Most of the visible hotel staff seem to be college students. A perky youthful greeting would not hurt the overall guest experience.
Location: Domestic restaurant on German street is good. Don't plan on a late dinner though, Sheperdstown rolls up the sidewalk by 9PM.
Clean, predictable, mediocre feel. While in the area on a business trip to NCTC I stayed three nights. The first thing you'll notice when you drive up is that the parking near the front door is all reserved for staff. The main parking lot is not far away but I was glad it was not raining. Just in terms of a "welcome" for guests the image that creates is not ideal. After the first night the maid service knocked on the door about 9AM while I was on a conference call and I asked her to return later. She failed to return to the room was not made up that night. Coffee packet available at the front desk. Not a big deal but not ideal either. Second morning I opened the curtains and the curtain track fell off the ceiling. Also not a big deal and it was repaired upon my return that evening but did not exactly add to the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Decent hotel.

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Clean and convenient.
Location: Hotel was close to C&O trail and town. Dining and shops close by. Close to university if thats what you are there for.
Just stayed one night while biking on C&O trail. Close to trailhead and town. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Cut top/side of foot on Arm Chair in room

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Under the chair fabric there was exposed metal that I cut my foot. Staff provided antibiotic/bandaids and replaced chair and offered an apology. Therefore, the use of the pool and other facilities did not occur. No discount or other amenities was offered. I provided comments, but have not received any correspondence from Clarion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty old and isolated

Posted Aug 23, 2015
This is the 2nd review written because the free wifi went down and the place is too far out to even tap into roaming capability. Stayed overnight to do whitewater rafting. Learned upon arrival they did not have my reservation. I could not call Expedia because Verizon did not service that location. Did have a nice basketball gym but everything closed at 8 pm. The room and facility is not kept and the furniture as pretty antiquated including the hair that looked like something made in the 1980s. Dust bunnies and water stains are common sights. I was glad I only reserved for one night. I would not return to this property, even though we will be back to whitewater raft again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

very nice for the price

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: very comfortable king size bed
Location: annual theatre festival in the summer, great crafts and vintage furniture, charming cafes.
airy and clean lobby, very friendly and courteous staff, coffee and citrus water in lobby, better than average workout room and hotel pool. Pillows can be hypoallergenic or feather. all nonsmoking, which is helpful to nonsmokers or people with allergies in a town where a lot of people seem to smoke.