Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

One night stay

Posted Nov 29, 2017
The hotel has old world charm, our room was not large but cosy, clean and with all the amenities you would expect. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Disappponting

Posted Nov 28, 2017
I think our expectations of this hotel were very high so we were a bit disappointed with our room but we did stay in one of the lodges and not the main hotel. We had to boil the kettle on the floor as the lead from the socket would not reach to the worktop. In the bathroom there appeared to be a glass shelf missing above the basin, there was no toilet brush and worst of all there was a problem with hot water for the shower. When my husband was showering the hot water stopped completely and it took 5/10 minutes before it came back on .it was as if if someone else had turned a tap on and had priority over our room! Having said all that, the main hotel was lovely and the breakfast excellent but unfortunately we did not have enough time to take advantage of all the hotels facilities. Another positive was the “real” coffee and cafetiete in our room and also a fridge with bottled water in. I expect if we had stayed in the main hotel then that would have lived up to our expectations and my review would have been very different !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Characterful hotel.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Old country house feel
Cons: Obvious redecorating needs doing
Location: Stayed for shepton mallet carnival
Only one night stay but Nice hotel, comfortable and friendly. A little bit tired but an old building so hard to upkeep. Loved our room , a very good breakfast and though it felt perhaps a little understaffed they aimed to please . Would definitely go back .
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you for your feedback!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you for your feedback!
4 out of 5
by MR BOARDMAN

Expected better.

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
The spa and bedroom were very nice. The service and food not so great. Some staff seemed friendly and others didn't. We waited 15 minutes before getting our order taken for breakfast, when our food arrived they only bought out one meal, I had to wait longer for mine which came out wrong. And the eggs had zero taste.
4 out of 5
by Clive

Nice hotel, food poor

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay, nice staff. The spa was pleasant the one let down was the cooking both of breakfast and meals. Great place to stay but so such a great place eat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you for your 5* rating! We look forward to seeing you soon!
4 out of 5
by maria

5* potential, needs more attention to detail

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a beautiful area. Service good but slow. Rooms very comfortable but our room had bath only with mixer shower and no shower curtain-difficult to shower! Expect to pay £10 per day to access spa which I thought would be included in hotel price. Spa facilities were good but only a small pool. One other point after breakfast sat outside in lovely gardens for a rest only to endure an hour or so of gardeners strimming borders and cutting grass on a sit n ride mower. Whilst they were wearing ear defenders we couldn't hear ourselves speak- hardly relaxing, I'm assuming Thursday morning is gardening day! So all in a mixed bag really, 5* potential but they need to work on more finesse and customer awareness.
4 out of 5
by T

Great rate for a small room.

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Room rates appear to relate to the size of the room allocated. We booked a small double and, to be fair, that's what we were given. It would however been a much more comfortable room if it has less furniture in it. Whilst I understand that business users might want a desk in their room it wasn't big enough to be useful anyway! The leisure facilities were great, as were all the staff.