Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice but outdated

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: The people were nice.
Cons: The food! The burger patty was overworked and overcooked and chips was soggy. The breakfast sausages were so greasy my stomach still turns...
We stayed 2 nights. It was all right, but the room was super outdated and had no personality whatsoever. The breakfast is ok, but way too greasy. Same goes for the burger we had for dinner. It's easy to find the place, and the pub area was quite nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from northwest

Good base for work

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: quality for price
Cons: car park decoration
pleasant friendly easy to find exterior appearance deceptive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: bacon could be crispier.
Location: ok
Most of the staff were friendly. One member, young girl with blonde hair, was grumpy and awkward each time she was on duty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrow in Furness Cumbria

Just a one night stay but a pleasant experience

Posted Sep 12, 2015
First visit to this area staff very friendly and helpful breakfast good and wholesome. I arrived late but this was no trouble to them and they made me welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to relax

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Very welcoming stayed here just 1 night after a day at longleat safari worth every penny food was also very tasty room were comfy and clean and staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Croscombe

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: The temperature everywhere was warm even though it was freezing outside and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Double glazing on the front windows.
Our room was at the front of the hotel. The windows were single glazed and the road outside was busy. After a long drive to Somerset we wanted an early night but found getting off to sleep difficult because of the noise of the traffic. Then in the morning we were disturbed at 5-30 by the traffic. So if possible we would ask for a room away from the road next time. Otherwise the room was excellent and the bed comfortable and the stay excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

OK stop over.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff and nice breakfast.
Cons: Decoration and level of maintenance.
We stayed for just one night while visiting family in the area. It is a bit old and could do with some TLC. Having said that our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good, and the staff were helpful. We past the hotel on route to our destination, we were not going to get back to the hotel by the end of check in. As we passed by, before the check in time started, we dropped in and the staff were happy to show us where the room was and give us the key in advance so that our late arrival was not a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay great breakfast

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: atmosphere and cost
Cons: everything was fine
We stayed for 1 night whilst in the area to purchase a camper van. A very friendly atmosphere, nice meal on the evening and a good breakfast which was included in price of room. Pauline and Steve the land lords were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall a good experience at a very good price, would recommend.
2 out of 5
by Topcat from North Devon

Excellent Customer Service

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The customer service and cleanliness
Cons: The cooking
Location: Excellent location to the Royal Bath Show Ground, five minutes up the road.
The staff on arrival were excellent, booked in and was shown to our room which these days is a rare occurrence, the room was nice though rather hot but the bed comfortable and the bathroom spotless. We decided to stay at the Inn and eat for our evening meal, the food was really disappointing dry and had no flavour, i thought maybe we were unlucky as it was a busy evening but our breakfast was not good either. It was a real shame because apart from the food the Highwayman has a lot to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Lincoln

Good location and facilities.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, and willingness to go out of their way to please.
Location: We visited Wells the following morning, and need to return at another opportunity in order to explore further.
My wife and I needed to stay in the area, in order to be available for work in the locality the following day. We saw this hotel and liked the look on the website, so made a booking. Our stay was excellent, a very quite and peaceful night. We were particularly impressed by the chef who went to great lengths in order to meet my wife's restricted dietary requirements. We could thoroughly recommend this establishment for a friendly evening meal and overnight stay.