Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet and friendly, but a few issues

Posted Oct 10, 2016
There were marks on the bedsheet similar to blood marks. Despite reporting this to staff the bedsheet was not changed for my second night. Luckily, as it was a double bed and I was staying alone I was able to sleep on the cleaner half of the bed. There were opened shampoo sachets in the shower so this had clearly not been cleaned since the previous guest had left. The hot tap in the basin leaked unless you switched it off extremely tightly. Not a problem for me but would cause difficulty for people with any sort of muscle or hand/wrist issues. The shower doors, even when fully opened, did not allow me easy access and I had to squeeze through them to get in or out of the shower. Now, I'll admit that I'm not small in stature but there are bigger people than me and they would really struggle with it. Both shower doors are loose, presumably because so many people have to force their way past them. On the second morning of my stay, I was offered a choice of small or large breakfast but on the first morning I, and other guests, were given no choice and there seemed to be an assumption that we only wanted small breakfasts. There is a bar on site but this was closed when I returned at just after 10pm on both Friday & Saturday night so the option of a relaxing drink at the end of a long day was not there. On the plus side, this is a quiet location surrounded by countryside with plenty of parking and free wifi. The staff were pleasant and courteous. The room had a decent view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Good for the tight budget

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Great Location and budget friendly. Relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: Decor could be freshened up.At Breakfast a bit more guidance on where things can be found for drinks and cereals while waiting for cooked food.
Location: Loads to do, we went to Wookey Hole Caves, fab day out.
If you are on a tight budget, can cope with traffic noise and are ok with basic this is a place to stay. Land Lord and staff sorted out any problems we had (child bed missing, blocked shower) quickly. Breakfast really good but service a bit slow, short of staff. We struggled to sleep due to road noise and some music in pub. As soon as we mentioned music it was turned off though and we were right above bar so sound traveled, others residents were not affected. We were compensated for any issues we had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was the friendliest of any hotel I've ever stayed at. I was having to take a taxi around town, and the owner of the hotel offered to drive me and have someone drive me to my destination. They also accommodated all of my requests with a smile on their face, and made me feel right at home.
4 out of 5
by Isabela Maria from São Paulo

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely friendly staff! A little old building, but they are making improvements! Great pub downstairs, nice English breakfast!
2 out of 5
by Tim from Exmouth

Shepton Mallett

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Run down Hotel room very cold and noisy as is right by the main road The staff however were very nice
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Hampshire

OK but Friendly

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were friendly and the room was clean, if a little basic. If your room is on the front of the hotel you will be affected by the vehicles driving past your bedroom. The breakfast was good although the chips with the evening meal weren't great. Would I stay again? Possibly, not probably.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Frills

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
This is functional only. The decor is poor with patchy paint and cracks in the corners. The Shower is power in name only and there's no Central Heating although the hotel left an electric heater in our room, whilst speaking of which - is adjacent to the main road. But it was clean and the staff friendly. The included breakfast was good enough but the staff could have been more attentive then to ensure you knew where things were. We were stopping for only one night and were going to be out all evening so in that regard, we had no problems but I wouldn't want to stay for any length of time.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Croydon

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were brilliant, we were met with a smile and a very helpful manager who upgraded us to a suite since we were there for the Easter weekend. We were also given a welcome drink on the house. The only drawback was the early closing of the kitchens at 9pm on a Friday night. Breakfast is served all day from 6am and is amazing. Highly recommended if visiting Wells, Cheddar, Wookey etc. Overall my Wife and I had a great time at this hotel/pub and will definitely stay here again when visiting the area in the future
5 out of 5
by Alison from Horsham

great hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
After going to flea market at shepton mallet we went to the hotel, they were serving sunday carvery we had a lovely meal. We went to our room which was very clean and comfortable, in the evening we went back to the bar and had a really lovely snack and drinks. The staff were all friendly and helpful, we had breakfast the next morning which was also very good. When we come bsck to this area we will be staying here again. ly
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels