Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not bad, but not amazing

Posted May 30, 2017
This hotel is well decorated, in an excellent location, and generally is very good. But... too many little things let it down: a hint of mould in the bathroom, an error on the bill, a peeling notice in the lift, a wasted gazebo full of old furniture in the garden, uncollected glasses, staff who are nice, but could do with more training... it's a real shame.
5 out of 5
by Mrs

Rest comfort tranquility

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful relaxing and totally cared for - I needed to rest after my divorce and write up a PhD and I couldn't have been treated better! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel with fabulous staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Chris who seemed to be on duty the whole time but was always smiling). The room was spacious and comfortable, and the shower had excellent water pressure. The restaurant in the hotel is really truly very good too. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a break in the Norfolk countryside.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location Friendly staff Restaurant food
Cons: Refresh of remaining furniture / fixtures in room
Location: Located at the edge of Sheringham Park with direct access to the park. A good base if you have a car and want to explore North Norfolk.
This hotel is in a rural location, with direct access to Sheringham park. The staff were lovely and did all they could to ensure their guests enjoyed their stay. We ate once in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent and reasonably priced for the quality. The cooked breakfast was also good although I personally prefer a more varied continental buffet selection. We stayed in a standard double and it was fine. Plenty of space & everything you need. The room looked like it had new curtains, but also had some old fixtures & fitting including a very small TV strangely installed in the wardrobe door & a light switch coming off the wall. In contrast, the ensuite had clearly been refurbished and was more modern with a great shower. Location-wise, the hotel is well situated for exploring th North Norfolk coast. All in all we liked the location, had a very pleasant stay, and would consider staying again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Touch disappointed

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Out of season stay. Room 6 is a nice room and good for working in, however the bathroom smelled so badly of mould that I was offered a choice of other rooms. New room was fine until I discovered that the toilet hadn't been flushed and there was a lot of dust. Didn't feel like using the shower. The explanation is that this room isn't used regularly out of season. Recommendation - ask the question when was the room last cleaned. Just 4 in the restaurant but the menu choice and quality of my dishes was very good. Interesting range of wines by the glass
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
pleasant room . comfortable bed . clean radiator could not be turned off and bathroom fan not working - these observations were report otherwise we enjoyed our stay and will return next year
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel.

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is easily the best hotel I've ever stayed in. We stayed for my wife's birthday and the staff couldn't be nicer. The food was excellent and the rooms were spotless. We will definitely be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old hotel needing some refurbishment

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: We met some very f,die day people
Cons: Decor and dinner
Location: Very quiet location, a good base for touring the area.
The room was described as a superior room, it was a good size and the bed was large and comfortable, however the wallpaper was hanging off the wall, the floor was uncovered bare boards and the wardrobe doors did not slide properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Hotel with lots of character

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The character and it's size was just right for us. Not big to make it feel impersonal. Had a feeling of a country home.
Cons: The lavatory would benefit from a good clean.
Location: Ideally sited for NT park and the north Nolfolk coast. Lots of lovely villages close by.n
We had a relaxing couple if days with all the comforts we needed. The hotel is sited in a nice rural setting yet within easy access of attractions. The views from our room were lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Lovely hotel lovely location

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Ebookers
Had a relaxing stay at this hotel great location near sheringham