Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old hotel needing some refurbishment

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: We met some very f,die day people
Cons: Decor and dinner
Location: Very quiet location, a good base for touring the area.
The room was described as a superior room, it was a good size and the bed was large and comfortable, however the wallpaper was hanging off the wall, the floor was uncovered bare boards and the wardrobe doors did not slide properly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Hotel with lots of character

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The character and it's size was just right for us. Not big to make it feel impersonal. Had a feeling of a country home.
Cons: The lavatory would benefit from a good clean.
Location: Ideally sited for NT park and the north Nolfolk coast. Lots of lovely villages close by.n
We had a relaxing couple if days with all the comforts we needed. The hotel is sited in a nice rural setting yet within easy access of attractions. The views from our room were lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stafford

good country house hotel which could be excellent

Posted Aug 25, 2015
very good but does not quite come over as professional as it could- garden needs improving and stall need to fix problems not keep apologising for being late etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant break

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely stay in peaceful surroundings and good food and helpful service.
4 out of 5
by Linda from Ashford

Mixed thoughts on this one....

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a long weekend to celebrate my partners birthday. The hotel was lovely, had lots of character and was a great base for the weekend. The staff on the other hand were mixed. Rachel was brilliant and sorted out some days out for us and was excited to do so. Hattie however, was a little stressed at breakfast when we didn't come down until 9.45 on Sunday. We were asked to sit down but one of her colleagues and then she 'bellowed' across the room (a little embarrassing) that we should sit somewhere else. We figured she was stressed because it was busy and she seemed to have young lads with her who didn't know what they were doing. The fire alarm went off twice on Saturday, obviously false alarms but no explanation. Hotel was accommodating with some ice and wine bucket as we asked which were a little surprised about when we got back to our room. Overall a pleasant stay, food was good and generally all was OK.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Pleasant old style building in ample grounds.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: very attentive staff, eager to please their customers.
Cons: Bedside radio, either difficult to operate, or not working; reported to staff, and folding glazed screen over bath needs attention.
Location: Location is very good, plenty of things to do in that area of Norfolk
A three day stay, very satisfied with service, room, food, and would certainly use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Nice hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Jul 21, 2015
A lovely hotel, in a beautiful setting lovely food. Only spoiled by head waitress who was very off hand and abrupt with us on both dinner and breakfast meals. Such a shame as it spoiled a small part of a wonderful weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Pleasant country hotel,

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Very pleasant stay, staff were helpful and welcoming, excellent food. A little more attention to detail in the housekeeping would have been good. Downside was the garden was neglected and could have been made much more of, has potential to be amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel for a leisurely stay

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Great location. very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing "Country House Hotel"

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
Good quiet location. Public rooms fine, but bedrooms tired. Had to request towels and robes in room. Bed uncomfortable, ditto pillows. Bathroom plugs not working properly. Breakfast unacceptable for £12.50 per head - no fresh fruit after 9.00 am, had to request replenishment of orange juice. Milk jug had ingrained "matter" on inside, which was pointed out to waitress, no real apology. Cooked breakfast: haddock OK; scrambled egg strange texture and taste, bacon grey and unpalatable. Reception staff very pleasant.