Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from California

There are two Tokyo Stays in Shibuya

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Staff is very accommodating. Room was small, but had utilities for cooking and laundry in the room.
Cons: I was happy with the place.
Location: Very close to Shibuya Crossing and a McDonalds around the corner. Hachiko is ten minutes away and you can get to the JR Yamanote line pretty easily.
Heads up, Apple maps will list both hotels as "Tokyo Stay at Minamiguichi" - To no fault of the hotels. That being said when I got to Shibuya it was raining and I was having a hard time managing my phone and luggage, so maybe it was me - but be warned just in case. If you use Hachiko as a starting point, it is literally about a 10 minute walk and is down the street from the Mets Hotel (which was the largest public marker I could see). The other Tokyo Stay was about a 20 minute walk, so if you find yourself huffing and puffing to get there, you're headed to the wrong one. But, the important stuff - Hotel Staff were amazing. They will hold your luggage after you check out, if you want to sight see. Very accommodating. The Hotel is more of a extended stay - Room has a small kitchenette and washer. Bathroom was a tad small, but that is nothing new in Japan and more authentic :). Room was straightforward - nothing too fancy, but it did the job for my one night stay. If two people are sharing a room, I hope you are a close couple, because you will be in each others space. If you need a clean, affordable location that is right next to Shibuya Crossing this is the place. Especially if you are interested in photographing the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Great location. Literally a minutes walk from the Shibuya Station and 5 minute walk to Hachiko Square. Washer dryer was super handy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Great location, spacious room, reasonably priced, clean. Would recommend to others.
3 out of 5
by Joshua from Korea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tamara

Quick, convenient, good for business travelers

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Quick check in. Great to have laundry facilities in my room. Great front staff. The neighborhood is a bit of a mess as Shibuya Station is being rebuilt, but it also makes everyday interesting. When the new station building is done, the place will be amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Location is good and price is reasonable. Included breakfast at a restaurant called johnathan was just okay. Room is not cleaned for short stays but the staff provides new towels and robes every day. Will stay again. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by noorshuhaimi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything You Need Right in Shibuya!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi is an easy walk from the Shibuya Station minamiguchi (South entrance) gate. Shibuya Station is massive and complicated. You should get a good map of it before you arrive. It serves several train lines and underground lines and there are many gates on several levels. The Shin-minamiguchi side of the station has more office towers than shops. That’s o.k., though, as it is relatively quiet at night. You will feel very safe and surrounded with like-minded people if you find yourself walking back to the hotel late in the evening. Our room had a kitchenette that included a small fridge, a microwave, one burner (a hob), a large basin (sink) and its own washing machine! There are pots and pans, plates and tea cups, electric kettle, etc. All you need for some light cooking, or at least warming up some takeaway food. Our room had plenty of closet space and drawers to put everything away. The flat screen TV was large (and gets CNN), the bed was comfortable. Best of all, we had our own balcony! It wasn’t large, but we could step out in the evening and look over the Shin-Minamiguchi side of Shibuya, see and hear the trains going by, see the office workers head home and get a sense of what it’s like (sort of) to live in Tokyo. The hotel is just past a Family Mart. This will prove very useful if you stay awhile. The convenience store is open 24 hours and sells a bit of everything at reasonable prices (particularly handy for well-priced beer and wine!
4 out of 5
by Pearl

Good value for money and spacious hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
I love that the hotel is close to the Shibuya JR station (new south gate) and there are lots of eateries near the hotel. 2 fairly large Lawson convenience stores from the train station to the hotel. Most importantly the size of the room is large by Tokyo standards and the little balcony offers additional space. I love to just sit by the coffee table and open the balcony door to enjoy my morning breakfast which I buy from the nearby convenience store. Even though it does not offer daily housekeeping, it does change all the towels and clear all waste bins daily, which is good enough for me. The only small downside is the noise from the railway line which I can hear in my toilet because my room was at the end of the corridor. This may be a problem for light sleepers, however it was not an issue for me as long as the toilet door and the balcony door is closed. I will definitely stay here again.