Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Sushil from New Delhi

Family holiday in July

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Have been to Woodville Palace Hotel many times earlier as well but was disappointed this time. The rooms we got were quite spacious but the paint etc was peeling off on the walls. The geyser wasn't working initially & the drainage in one of the bathrooms was also defective. The floor got flooded after a bath. The staff was courteous overall, except the chef, who refused to take our dinner order & insisted we have the buffet! Eventually we got our order once the manager "requested" the chef to oblige. But the food in all meals (including the dinner & breakfast) was delicious!! The exterior of the hotel is as beautiful as ever but the upkeep and maintenance needs to be worked upon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

Badly in need of Upgrading itself

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Badly outdated hotel. Needs upgrading. bathroom leaking taps. Service painfully slow
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queretaro, Mexico

Great staff, great view, convenient location

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: The forest outside, the external view, the pictures inside and its charming that everything seems to be original and very old.
Cons: Rooms need painting, change hallways carpets, bed sheets and bathrooms. Hire a good architect and interior designer an this will be an AWSOME place.
Location: Stunning nature around the hotel and 10 min walk to the mall and market. Very quiet for India.
There is too much to say about this place. To get there the first time it is complicated but after you understand Shimla's distribution gets easy to get in and to get out from this hotel. It has wonderful gardens, wonderful historic pictures and the property is history by itself. The staff was very nice and polite, specially the tourist guide provided by the hotel, he is a very wise man and extremely educated. The hotel by itself need renovations """urgently""", it is a shame that a jewel like this is falling apart. Something unacceptable was to find our room dirty on arrival, we were close to leave but we decide to stay because the staff take care immediately of our complains.
3 out of 5
by SUBHADIP from bangalore

Woodville palace

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
It was ok, the hotel is difficult to locate and despite being a palace lacks the pomp and glory of one. The walls of the room was affected by the rains and showed signs of damp. The staff was courteous however food options were not many specially in snacks. As Shimla was cold we expected central heating however that was not the case and separate room heaters were kept in the rooms. If you are late for breakfast, you may not get enough left
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Hotel is set on peabustle ceful grounds away from hustling
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CHENNAI

Good Hotel...Away from traffic ..noise.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: I always like and select heritage properties when ever plan for holidays.
Cons: In room cleanliness.
Location: Nice...calm location.Very suitable for morning walk...
Hotel staff are friendly and pleasing, Good food...but the rooms allotted to us (210&211)are not well maintained...particularly the wash rooms.We were informed that the Rajah of Jubbal dynasty who owns this property is also residing in the same premise...even then the focus on cleanliness is insufficient.
5 out of 5
by Gopal from Gurgaon, India

Beautiful place. Great Location.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Great Place, Great People, Great Service, Great Food.
Cons: The Bathrooms need renovation
Location: Take walks to the Mall, the Ridge, Scandal Point, Lakkar Bazar. It has drive-in facility and ample parking space.
A Royal Palace with serene surroundings, Woodville Palace Hotel was a delight to visit. The Staff was very cordial and welcoming. Food was excellent and pocket friendly. The Hotel is located close to the Mall.
5 out of 5
by alistair from aberdeen scotland

lovely mountain views

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: old colonial character peaceful setting
Cons: 1dd dial direct- tel box
Location: mountain walking trips 20 min walk to shimla centre
very helpful people as my mother died in scotland when staying at the woodville palace good food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by NJ from mumbai

A Feel of the past

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels
We visited Shimla in April and had a wonderful vacation, with the weather pleasantly cool. We stayed at Woodville Palace on the first floor of the new wing, and it was an experience taking us back to a forgotten past. Wirh polished wooden floors and walls covered with pictures from its rich past, it gave us an opportunity to experience its history. The deluxe room was very spacious and clean, however the bathroom was a notch below and could do with some upgrading of the hot water and other amenities. overall it is very well maintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Hollywood bar is a nice place to have drink and the food is excellent. We were surprised to find that there are no rickshaws or taxis freely available in shimla, but this was not a issue as all the main attractions are on the Ridge or around it. Its about a 20 minute walk from Woodville palace to the Ridge, and the walk itself is very picturesque. The walk back was not too fun after walking the whole day, and wished Woodville was a bit closer to Mall road. one thing that we'd like to note here is that on weekends, the hotel opens a buffet and closed the Ala Carte Menu, which didnt leave any option for guests, specially for dinner as you couldn't take a walk back to the Mall road without any vehicle at night. We were on B/B basis and on a budget. however, once we spoke to the management thwy obliged and it qas a happy ending after all!