Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice location

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Beautiful beach views from my room balcony. Bathroom is too small, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

worth the price per night

Posted May 30, 2017
Beautiful views but terribly setup. The room was hot even with the A/c completely turned down. A/c vent filters were also filthy and look to have never been cleaned. Beds were hard as a rock but I'm not complaining about that. First floor access is a long walk down a hallway then on an elevator. Don't try the public spa if you have tattoos because it's not allowed. Otherwise it's a decent hotel. Again, the views are amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Nice hotel with a beach

Posted May 10, 2017
Had apprehensions as some of the reviews had mentioned about cleanliness ..but did bit find any problem . Rooms were big and spacious with all necessary facilities . Overall good hotel worth the stay .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel restaurants are very expensive!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: View, cleanness
Cons: restaurants prices
This was the second time I stayed this hotel. Building is old but room is very clean and the view from the room is really beautiful. There was no restaurants around this hotel and downtown (around the Shimoda station) is pretty far but the restaurants in this hotel is very expensive, cheapest one was around 2500 JPY. If we could enjoy reasonable price dinner in this hotel, it would be much nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Larger room for Japan with a small foyer and smaller bathroom. Great view of Shirahama Beach. The onsen was fantastic! It is the off season so all of the restaurants weren't open (missed the karaoke) but that just added to the laid back atmosphere. Would definitely do it again and stay longer than two nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful beach hotel; facilities can be improved

Posted Oct 3, 2016
all the rooms in this hotel come with a gorgeous ocean view. Really, crystal clear water, white sand beach, hot spring, mountains nearby -- your dream vacation. My only two complaints are: 1) the hot spring facilities are a little outdated, as there is only one indoor pool and no other modern onsen experience can be expected; 2) dining is a problem, as there's no restaurants nearby the hotel and public transportation is very inconvenient, so you have to dine at the hotel, which has limited and expensive choices. That said, the food we had was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beachy

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Old hotel, had a Tatami-futon bed with regular beds too (single beds) the best thing was the beach access & a nice onsen with beach view. Cleanliness was to Jap standards, absolutely no complaints. Their bed spreads & sheets were clean& ironed to perfection! Wish they had a coffee machine in the room (they did have a kettle & tea bags)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herriman, Utah

Awesome hotel in Shimoda.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It was by far one of my best stays in Japan. The beach front hotel is beautiful. The hotel bath house is excellent and the rooms are very clean. While the hotel was built in the 1970s, it is still very nice. It feels a hotel from a James Bond movie; I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in a more rural, beautiful part of Japan. The staff was very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gross

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful location. But that's basically all they have going for them. They do have hot springs too which was relaxing. The hotel was dirty and old. Just yuck. It was rainy season too so we spent a lot of time indoors. I couldn't wait to leave. In my 2 week trip to Japan, this hotel was by far the worst. If you have ever watched Hot Tub Time Machine, this hotel would be the Japanese version of that hotel.
4 out of 5
by Ryan from Charleston, SC

Great location

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
Shimoda Prince hotel is a great place to stay. I'm American and the rooms are a good size compared to most hotels in Japan. They were very accomdating to our requests. The private beach is great and right on the other side of the very popular Shirahama beach.