Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Smoky hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2014
The smoke of cigarette is extremly strong you can hardly breathe and the shower rooms gives u a strong headacche of the strong chemicals they use to stirilize . The capsule experience its cool the thing that really put me absolutely off is that people smoke inside.
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Canada

Cool place, great price. Neat experience.

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
This is a traditional Japanese capsule hotel. Most of the guests there are Japanese locals. Besides myself, I didn't see any foreigners. The staff there were quite friendly. Though they didn't speak much English. It was a neat experience staying there. You don't wear shoes inside. When you go in you put them in a locker and you can either wear slippers, go barefoot or in socks. They don't have showers. Instead it's a communal bath area where you get a little plastic stool to sit on and have a showerhead on the end of a hose. Soap, shampoo, disposable razors etc. are included. They give you towels and a robe and shorts. Most of the guests wear these whenever they're inside. There's a sitting area with vending machines and tables and a TV wear a lot of guys hang out. The area is a bit seedy (which may or may not suit you). I happen to think it was colourful. There are a lot of bars and restaurants and other entertainment establishments in the immediate area. The capsule itself was perfectly fine as far as I was concerned. Bring ear plugs just in case you get a lot of snorers in your section. I didn't have a problem with noise. Note: The men's hotel is on the second floor. There is a ladies only version of this hotel on street level.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Medium

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Staffs nice...can keep luggage before checkin but not checkout...my capsule is non smoking, but I can find smoking mark in my capsule...hotel located in red light area...not good but according the price in Shinjuku, not bad
2 out of 5
by Nick from Australia

Decent for what it is

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Having never stayed in a capsule before I can't compare experiences, however my stay at shinjuku 510 was mixed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the building and capsules old but clean. The capsules old use a curtain which meant the noise of people coming and going could be an issue. Overall a decent place if this is what you're looking for.
3 out of 5
by Christopher C from Yokosuka

be careful

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
all and all the stay was okay, however the address listed is nowhere near to the actual site of the hotel I wandered around for maybe 30 minutes before I was able to stumble upon the actual hotel and I only recognize did you to some of the pictures that have been posted on hotels.com.besides that side checking in with the reservation was very easy checking out was extremely easy as well, the location isn't that bad.I wouldn't say I would recommend this to friends and family, but if I needed to stay the night in Shinjuku again I wouldn't have a problem staying here.
3 out of 5
by fred from canada

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
Everything seemed OK for the money , but the front desk not helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Osaka

Shinjuku Capsule 510

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pleasantly surprised with this establishment. Clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Canada

good location capsule hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Good location in city, near stores and train station
Location: Near train station, grocery store across the street
Its a capsule hotel, period. Good location. Hard to find as map location is wrong. Best to ask at Shinjuku station information booth. Google-ing addresses usually wrong in Japan - weird system. Look for green trim of building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels
Everything you could expect for the price. Area isnt too busy, but very close to bustling Shinjuku. Convenient. They did not speak much english at all but were very friendly/accommodating to a Westerner. Only issue was first night my capsule did not have working light, they offered to move me, but I declined since i was going directly to bed, they fixed it the next day. Breakfast is good and cheap. Wifi was a little spotty at times. Almost everyone staying was a Japanese businessman. Very authentic.
1 out of 5
by Roger from London

Not worth the money

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Need to make non smoking zones, non smoking. Spa facilities were a bit tired too.
Location: Location is great for Shinjuku. I can't fault that
I have stayed many times in Japan, and many capsule hotel, but this is by far the worst i have stayed in. Unless you are a smoker and want to passively smoke your entire stay, then avoid. I got woken up by the cigarette smoke it was so bad, and i was on a non smoking floor. So bad after 3 hours of checking in i gave up my 2 nights accommodation, even they would not give any refund. Facilities were ok, but nothing more. Quite run down place. Location near Shinjuku is actually really good, but it took me over an hour to find the place. All the locations on internet for this place are incorrect. Do not look it up on google maps as it's incorrectly located. Was a nightmare to find. I've travelled over 6 weeks in Japan and this was by far the worst stay I had. I dont normally post a bad review, but its only fair to other travellers I share my experience. Be warned.