Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Ohio!

Friendly comfort in downtown Tokyo near YMCA

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff - owned by nice family Fairly easy to locate Clean room
Cons: Maybe providing more ryokan info online
Location: The ryokan is at Yotsuya JR station as is only a hop (160 ¥) away from Tokyo station.
When I first arrived at Ryokan Eishinkan, I had a bucket list of questions about where to eat and shop. Tomo showed me the room and was more than happy to andswer my many questions. In particular, I forgot a power adapter for my laptop. He gave me directions on how to get to a close-by electronics shop (including advice on which subway to take). After checkout, they let me leave my bags at the ryokan while I went sightseeing and looking for an adapter. If they had not helped me, I am certain that I would have also gotten lost on my trip to my next destination. I would like to have stayed longer, by I already had plans to leave Tokyo. My only recommendation is that you look on maps for the YMCA almost next door to the Ryokan. It will save you time and effort when you're trying to find the hotel.
5 out of 5
by MJD from Japan

Perfect at the price

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels
A perfect place to stay if you are not looking for luxury. Very simple, very honest. Friendly and helpful staff. Great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alain from Montreal, QC, Canada

Great spot well located

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Very well located. Owner spoke English. Helped me book tickets for sumo.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Yotsuya station. It is not a scenic area but near great sites. In between Shinjuku and Tokyo metro. Close to the action yet quiet at night.
The owner spoke English and was very helpful. The room was very clean and breakfast was very good. It is a family owned place and everyone was helpful. The place is also very well located. It is at Yotsuya station where one can access subway (Marunouchi & Namboku lines) and JR train (Chuo rapid & local lines). The area is quiet at night. There is a retaurant alley two blocks from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great Japanese ryokan for single traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2012
Pros: breakfast
Cons: not enough heat in bathroom and toilette by american standard. but it is common in most part of asia.
Location: close to yotsuya station by 5 min walking
In my future visit to Tokyo, I'd definitely stay here. Location is great. Many convenient stores and restaurant nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from UK

A budget gem

Posted Nov 23, 2012
As budget accommodation, what more could you ask for? Clean, safe, warm and welcoming, all at a great price and only five minutes walk from the subway too. Yes, if you want an en-suite or private bathroom then this isn't for you. And if you want a conventional bed, rather than a mattress on the floor, then this isn't for you either. But otherwise, if you want bed and breakfast accommodation near the tube and even nearer to a convenience store, where you are welcomed with a cup of green tea, for barely any more than a decent capsule hotel then maybe this is for you. Oh, and did I mention the free Wi-Fi?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA, USA

Beyond My Expectation

Posted Nov 8, 2012
Pros: The breakfast.
Cons: None
Location: The location is just perfect. Less than 5 minutes away from Yotuya JR station.
What a pleasant stay! The room is nicely kept clean. The breakfast is great. The staff are super helpful.
4 out of 5
by Kevin and Joan from Bolsover, England

Convenient for Tokyo sightseeing

Posted Oct 6, 2012
Very friendly hosts who speak English and were very helpful. Location is half way between Shinjuku and Tokyo central and a couple of minutes walk from Yotsuya Station. Lots of restaurants nearby. Downside was the roomsize and check you have ensuite first! LAN internet in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

it was a nice place to stay

Posted Jun 18, 2012
Pros: 20 minutes walk downtown
Cons: price, all hotel are really expensive in Tokyo
Location: close to the subway/train station
good location near downtown and not too expensive, altough not cheap either
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Berkeley, CA, USA

Japanese style dormitory inn in central Tokyo

Posted May 26, 2012
Pros: Very nice and accommodating family run business. Extremely convenient location.
Location: Highly convenient location in central Tokyo.
This is a Japanese-style dormitory inn in an extremely convenient location in central Tokyo. It is a very reasonably priced and very pleasant place to stay. You can get a very good night's sleep on the futon on the traditional Japanese mat floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandra from nyc

excellent family B&B.

Posted Apr 9, 2012
wonderful, family run B&B. 7 of my family stayed here. The owners could not be any nicer, the breakfast was nice and warm, the croissants freshly baked. I would stay again without any doubts. It is close to everything and there are many night restaurants close by. Lovely.