Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from USA

Conveniently located.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Warm staff.
Cons: A stand to place your suitcase.
Location: Excellent location, not far from Yotsuya station. Can walk to Geihinkan Palace.
Welcomed by very nice people/staff. Sincere services.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Great place to stay and feel welcome in Tokyo

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great first experience in Japan! Welcoming and helpful with suggestions of where to eat and even find the local bathhouse. Could help out even with my lack of Japanese language. Breakfast was a great and tasty way to begin each day of being a tourist in Tokyo. Very handy to Yotsuya station and hence anywhere, especially Shinjuku without all the hustle and bustle. Clean room every day with fresh everything. Nice famiily business. Would stay again and recomend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for your special words which make us so happy and encourage a lot. Especially we are glad if you had such a good memory in Japan as your first experience. Thank you very much again and hope to see you in near future. Your faithfully, From Eishinkan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good choice for people looking for a Japanese experience without getting too far out of their comfort zone. It is walking distance from a central subway station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice breakfast

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
It is a small Ryokan and nothing fancy. The breakfast is great and it is a good value if you need a cheap place in the middle of Tokyo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC, USA

Basic But Convenient

Posted Nov 2, 2015
This is a basic hotel but quiet, convenient and well run. The managers speak English and are very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grant from Japan

Cozy stay near Shinjuku

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Great, friendly service, clean comfortable room, great breakfast and close location to JR and metro
Cons: Maybe a sign out the front saying Hotel?
Location: Close to JR and metro plus the walk to Shinjuku offered up many gems with cafes, restaurants in abundance
This was a great experience. My room was not in the hotel proper but a little down the road. Everything I needed was catered for. Service was friendly, english spoken so no language problems and a great breakfast included in the reasonable price. Read about it in my blog baldmanblog.wordpress.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

culture

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
a very different hotel, family owned, very much like living in japanese house.
5 out of 5
by Dan from Oakland, CA

Eishinkan good intro to Japanese Ryokan

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
Needed a lower-cost option, and Eishinkan fit the bill. This is a pretty traditional Japanese Ryokan, so expect a small room, a futon on the floor, and a tiny bathroom (or for the less expensive rooms a bathroom down the hall). Breakfast is served 7:30 to 9:00 by the owner, who was very eager to ensure I had a good stay. Really nice touch was the umbrella provided on my door handle on the 2nd morning -- mine to keep so I could travel without getting wet. Hotel is about 1/2 KM from the Yotsuya JR and Japan Metro station. Neighborhood has some restaurants, but is primarily a residential area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek from Seattle, WA

Comfortable and personable Japanese-style inn

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The personal feel: I interacted with the (extremely accomodating) proprietor and his family every day.
Location: This ryokan isn't in the center of everything, but the essentials are nearby, and its proximity to the Yotsuya station makes it easy to get around.
Staying at this ryokan turned out to be an excellent choice for me. It was clean and comfortable. The owners are on-site, very kind, and accomodating of non-Japanese speakers. Plus, the breakfast every morning was excellent. An illustrative tidbit of all of the above: I came back to the ryokan the last night of my stay and asked if I could use the microwave to heat up a bowl of udon. The owner said yes and heated it up for me. When it was done, he asked if I wanted a fork to eat with. I declined because I had chopsticks, and he said, "Oh! You know how to use chopsticks." The next morning, when I sat down for breakfast, he set a pair of chopsticks next to my plate rather than the usual fork.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to lay your head down at night

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels
I was satisfied with the room for the price paid. The room I stayed in was small but all I was looking for was a place to lay my head down at night and sleep. I will recommend the hotel if you want a place to sleep at night at a good price, this will not disappoint.