Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

nothing special

Posted Aug 26, 2015
chose this hotel because of the high ratings. nothing special. front desk staff were frequently unavailable for 5-10 mins at a time. wifi did not work in our room and staff could not help fix it. would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff
Cons: Unless they replace the air con, nothing really
Location: Cente of town but not a lot of shops. Ok for bars, diners, fuel and Walmart / retail area within a few minutes drive.
Checked in VERY late - no problem. Room very clean, comfy beds. Noisy air conditioning so had to switch it off to get some sleep. A little noise from the downstairs bar patio but not really a problem. Great location in centre of town, local bars, diners etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atco, NJ

Nice hotel but do not eat at the restaurant

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Clean, modern and a very attentive friendly staff
Cons: The restaurant, the soap/shampoo and the so called free breakfast which we just skipped. We figured why take the chance after last night's dinner.
Location: Nothing
The hotel was on par with what other reviewers have said. The room was immaculate and you got what you paid for. But what I really want o write about is the horrible restaurant associated with this hotel. Between the absolute sub par food and to the drinks that we didn't even finish, it was by far the worst meal we have had at a restaurant in years. Heed my advice and just go to the Subway around the corner.
Comment from EPC
Aug 15, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, EPC
Hello Imr, Thank you for staying here at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the food served at the restaurant. Your review will be called to their attention. I am certain this will be evaluated and addressed accordingly. I hope we could have another opportunity to serve you again, thank you for your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Everything was in working order and and the rooms were clean.
Cons: The breakfast (free with stay) was rather meager. The hotel restaurant food was good but overpriced for the portion size
The room was ready when I arrived and the check-in process went quickly. The staff was very polite and friendly. I had no problems with the bill - the hotel did not add any "extra" charges or fees.
Comment from EPC
Aug 15, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, EPC
Dear guest, It means so much to us to know that we have met your satisfaction during your recent stay here at The Shippen Place. Thank you for taking the time to share this positive review, we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shippensburg pa

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Wonderful hotel to stay at. Very beautiful and wonderful staff! Highly recommend it
Comment from EPC
Aug 15, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, EPC
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey for our hotel and for the excellent rating you posted for our hotel. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making your stay comfortable and welcoming. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Very good restruant, nice breakfest, pleasant envionment, great pation area to sit on and have dinner, excellent wi fi for work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

It was a great hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Very nice place, clean. I wish we could of stayed another night. We where there the nite of the grease fire in the kitchen. I still give it high marks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Overall was a nice and comfortable hotel. Obviously, the room was not inspected by the staff before we arrived, there were hair on the floor and I found two dead bugs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The bathroom door would not close

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The bathroom door would not close. one small bottle of shampoo, no conditioner. Weak continental breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to the University to see a concert

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We enjoyed our stay would definitely come back and stay again. The hotel was very nice the people where all friendly and the atmosphere quaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is very nice to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. Allow us to serve you again on your next trip in town.