Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex Fells, USA

Posted Nov 3, 2016
I have stayed here many times in recent years. Hotel was refurbished in last year. Very comfortable. Great staff. Great Breakfast. Great Beer Selection in bar. Excellent base to explore Cotswolds/Stratford-on-Avon area.
5 out of 5
by Tim from Leamington Spa, UK

A whole new experience since its refurb. Amazing.

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful dinner, bedroom and breakfast. Really nicely presented, friendly attentive service and excellent food. The George has never been better!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble

Posted May 10, 2015
The hotel staff were fantastic from the initial welcome to the moment we left. The hotel was clean and tidy, and very well presented. Such good value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peak District

Good location to visit The Cotswolds.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, the quirkiness of the floors and windows, the food, and the cleanliness.
Location: a lovely little village, stratford, worcester, Moreton in March all within driving distance. Worcester has a lovely Cathedral -well worth a visit.
We really enjoyed our stay, the hotel didn't have our booking from Expedia, but did have a room available so we were given the Cherry room. The room was lovely and although not big, it was enough for us, the ensuite was clean and the shower was fab. The windows were crooked and the floors wibbly wobbly but it is a very old building and just added to the quirkiness. The 2 lads that greeted us and were there for the first 2 days of our stay were exceptionally attentive, friendly and chatty, but all the staff were attentive and friendly. The full English Breakfast is huge and kept us going until Teatime, the next day we chose a bacon sandwich. We had a lovely meal at Mr Chan's in nearby Tiddington, and then had a meal at the George the following night , both were lovely in their own right. We met 2 locals whilst sat outside the hotel on our last night who told us to visit the Royal Oak, a very old pub in town, -it is surronded by a modem housing estate but is really lovely and has a Thai resturant attached. All in all it is a lovely place with lovely food, nice rooms and lovely staff and we would definately stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Relaxed atmosphere in nice quiet market town.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: We liked the room, the nice buzzy atmosphere of the bar and restaurant, parking at the rear. Lovely big luxurious bathroom.
Cons: Some senior management who can help guide the younger members of staff who , although perfectly friendly and helpful, need structure and reassurance.
Location: Lots of things to do. Leaflets in reception. We went to Startford -Upon -Avon
Stayed for 2 nights. Room was very good, large, nicely decorated if a little worn. Nice little touches , sweets on the pillows, retro decor, interestingly named rooms...Strawberry,Chocolate etc. Hotel obviously has very popular bar area which adds to a continental feel. We had a nice welcome from young staff member when we arrived , but he was clearly over worked and had come through from the bar to register us. No reception staff apparent. Evening meal was acceptable with interesting menu, no maitre d' , or any management present. Waitress was again slightly stressed and clearly overworked. Other staff members had to keep rushing in from the bar to check on guests. My husband had to wait for a forgotten bucket of chips for a considerable time. Breakfast on both days was similar...no management apparent and a scant young staff flustered and overworked.
2 out of 5
by Diane from Cardiff

Disappointed

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
They had no record of my booking through yourselves and really were not understanding of my frustration at having to move elsewhere at an increased cost.
5 out of 5
by robin from Wimborne

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant,lovely room and food, only slightly marred by a drunk in the bar when I went town for dinner, but I guess that's not their fault. Will use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great place

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
An excellent hotel, service, people were great, but except for the headboard in the bedroom? Quite 'strange' not many peoples choice?
4 out of 5
by Noel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

friendly staff who made my stay very confortable

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: very helpful happy staff
it was a last minute booking. Following a very long journey i found everyone to be very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast