Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Isolated, dirty, "Bates" hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Room open to mosquitoes, ran out of toilet paper because our room was never cleaned, we were the only occupants for two days and it was when we first arrived to the island, rooms are older and in need of renovation and love. I would have expected such conditions from a hostel, but not a hotel that's over 100 USD per night!
1 out of 5
by Rande from Bay Harbor, Michigan

Renter Beware

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
The office was closed when we tried to check in. A man appeared from the parking lot and said the room was open and a key inside. We lugged our bags up two flights of stairs. He drove away. We did not see a soul on the property. The louvered windows did not work. Kitchen was poorly equipped and a note said we had coffee, water, tea, and juice in the refrigerator. We did not but there were tiny ants crawling all over the counter. The balcony was very small. There was a small pool below with on one in it and an empty Jacuzzi, no water in it. The beach was not two minutes but thirty minutes. The bathroom was small. Only one person could get in the bathroom at a time.
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Wildwood

Allamanda Review

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
It was perfect for us. It was clean, quiet, convenient and the staff was friendly. We spent most of the day on the go. Now, if you were going to try and impress somebody, do a lot of entertaining or plan on spending most of your time at the hotel, this might not be your best choice.
4 out of 5
by Douglas from Kansas City

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful location. Clean rooms at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Affordable with walk to secluded beach

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, good price for having a pool. It is just a short walk out the back down a natural path to Shoal Bay, one of the most beautiful beaches
Location: Shoal Bay has several restuarants (Hank's, Uncle Ernie's)& great spa, Malakh where we had 2 wonderful massages
Comfortable bed with nice kitchenette. It is a quiet place, perfect for R&R. We enjoyed reading on the balcony as well as near the small swimming pool. The staff was responsive, friendly. The daily room service did a good job, very efficient. Can't beat the price. The restaurant on site, Zara's, is really good. We ate at several restaurants on the island, all were good, but Zara's was one of our favorite meals (grouper and mahi-mahi). Just down the road at island Harbor there is a wonderful bake shop (Le Bon Pain) where you can get a delicious sandwich, as well as The Artisan, great pizza, and a fun restaurant Da Vida
4 out of 5
by Chris from Colorado

Nice place

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
Walking distance to Shoal bay. There is a path by the pool that leads right to gwens reggae beach bar! Our stay was very quiet b/c it was offseason but the shoal bay area is sweet! Grab some rum and sandwich stuff and your set!
3 out of 5
by Investigator

Shoal Bay Location

Posted May 4, 2014 on Ebookers
The hotel is always very quiet - I was the only guest staying on one of the nights there. The pool is nice, but very shallow. There is nothing else! For meals there is Zara's where the food is extremely good, but only available for dinner. Therefore you either self-cater or go out ( as I did ) down to Shoal Bay East ... the best place on the beach for me was Hank's, breakfast and lunch were both good as were the prices too. This place was also more popular for those coming from St Martin's.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mike On The Move...

Simple Place, Simple Price! Great Location!

Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Orbitz
Hotel is nestled into the Flora and is a quick walk up a path to ***Shoal Bay East*** and Gwen's Reggae Bar and Grill... Very sleep location, perfect for those looking for seclusion... Good Food at Zara's restaurant and within walking distance on the beach to other simple eateries. Recommend Madeariman Reef Restaurant.
2 out of 5
by grmmysue from ca

Disappointing

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels
The gal in the office was very sweet and welcoming. The pool area was very nice and clean. The restaurant provided a delicious meal. Our room left much to be desired, #14. The paint in the dressing room area off the bathroom was literally separating from the wall. Paint was peeling off the ceiling in that same area...... The floor in toilet/shower area was caulked and grouted in black, which made us wonder if mildew was present, as that is what it looked like. The curtain pulls did not function properly, had to stand on bed to open and close. There was no direct beach access. I do not know condition of other rooms, but ours was in need of basic maintenance and proper paint job.