Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HV

So much potential but was let down.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The cleanliness was so disappointing. Stained curtains, lounge and walls. No soap or any amenities in the bathroom. No flipper for the fry pan. The lounge is well past its use by date. Otherwise location was good and a modern hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

No doors for one of the bedroom.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Clean. Nice big balcony. Inexpensive.
Cons: It should clearly state that one of the bedroom does not have a door. It is OK for a family with children but not for a mixed gender group of adults.
Location: Location is great.
We did not expect that one of the bedroom has no doors. I did not see that in the photos and assumed that each bedroom has a door. I wish it had clearly stated that one of the room does not have a door. It may be a great value apartment if the privacy is no issue. It has a nice big balcony, clean and inexpensive but it was not an ideal apartment for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Wotif
Not happy about the $20 we had to pay to collect the keys after 5pm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Worst holiday Apartment

Posted May 7, 2017 on Wotif
It was the worst hotel stay of my life! I took my three year old for the weekend and the guests above us were yelling, fighting and screaming till 4am also there was no soap for us to even clean ourselves when having a shower. Will never be returning.
5 out of 5
by Denise

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous part of the world : )
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

This is no way a Beach Club!

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing! And I wouldn't consider buy oone of these units as they have been upgraded very cheaply!
Cons: Don't call it a "Beach Club" as it is only a block of units! The attitude of the women in the office at Winnings could be better.
Location: Nothing nice about location, very ordinary
On arrival we could not find a where to check-in. We rang the number of the "Beach Club" as we thought we must have been in the wrong place, as the address took us to a block of units, only to find that we had to collect the keys from Winnings Holiday Accommodation up the road. The woman who I was talking to in the office said "You should read the fine print! It tells you there!", while the woman at the other desk was trying to put her two cents in about it aswell. I showed them a copy of my itinerary that I had printed off the Wotif site, and nowhere there does it say to collect the keys from there. While we were discussing this a man came in and was discussing the same thing and stated that he found them hard to find! Got told "Enjoy your one night!" After getting keys, we were disappointed that the block of units, which had For Sale signs surrounding it from several different Real Estates, was infact the "Beach Club"! It's a very basic block of units with a pool, no views (apart from the backyard of the townhouse next door) and a bathroom you can't swing a cat in. Although the beds were comfy and the linen was clean, the bathroom walls had hairs on them (probably from the cleaning cloth used after previous people left), sliding doors were dirty (on outside, but hadn't been cleaned for ages by the look of it) and there was spatterings of something (possibly coke) high on wall near the bathroom door and on back of bathroom door. All in all, a very disappointing place to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Don't stay here

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Wotif
Upon entry to the foyer we were overcome with a pungent odour. Which increased when we entered the lift. The whole complex smelt like mould. No surprise when we opened our room, the same smell. It was unpleasant and nauseating. We had to air the room by opening the sliding doors. And consequently has to suffer the influx of mosquitoes. Wood rot in bathroom cabinet. Minimal nessecities supplied. The unit was overpriced and is definitely only a 1 star. Don't stay here!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Crappy apartment

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Poorly built apartments that haven't been maintained. Smelly, dirty, cheaply fitted out. They don't even have enough cups/cutlery in the cupboard. Toilet seat was broken. Units smell due to poor ventilation. Can hear everything through the walls and roof include other units water running. Don't stay here! It's crap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wauchope

Big price - no dice

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to the Diggers Club and the beach.
Cons: Fly screens, give the A/C a clean, provide soap or at least charge a whole lot less.
Location: 2 mins drive to the shops, beach a 5 min walk.
We stayed at the Shoal Bay Beachclub Apts on 1/4/17. We were given a room on the groundfloor and were immediately shocked as to the shabbiness of the place - scuffed walls, tired couch which could've told a story or two, curtains faded as thin as paper. Next surprise was the lack of fly screens; fairly crucial when you're across the road from a swamp. There was no soap in the bathrooms, the a/c was so dusty I had to turn it off and the toilet seat had deep, dirty gouges on its surface. I've stayed in worse places....but they also cost less than a burger and chips at the local Wests Club. Shoal Bay will be revisited, but not this tired, dirty heap.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, smelly apartment with lots of hidden fees

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Was not informed that keys have to be picked up elsewhere until we arrived at the property and found a note requesting guests to pick up/drop off keys at 47 Shoal Bay road. Upon arriving at the Winning Holidays office at Shoal Bay town centre, we then found out that we have to call after hours security who then charged us a $20 (cash only) call out fee. The room is physically clean however it had a very damp smell which we later found out was due to the washing machine in the closet that has dirty water still undrained. and can't be drained because it's broken. There were also no other amenities e.g. shampoo, body wash besides the bath towels. The room light in the 2nd bedroom has also fused, luckily we have a table lamp still working. We were also unable to open the glass doors to air the room as there were no fly screens preventing bugs from flying in. The hot water pipes were rattling so hard from pressure we were afraid it might burst while having a shower. Funnily enough, this apartment is also on the market for 420k, highly overpriced for what is a very basic groundfloor 2BR shared small toilet, uncovered carport right next to the main road, which the owner may potentially have to spend another fortune fixing.