Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel has went down since Motel 6 has taken over.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
One word, Yuck!!! The hotel had a disgusting odor in the lobby and in the room. I had to go and buy some air fresheners for the room. The billboard advertises pillowtop mattresses, that is far from the truth. The bed actually had a dip in the middle where you had no choice but to sleep there. The linens were dirty and the room did not have any bath soap in there. Every time I left yo go somewhere I had to have a new key made due to it not working I slid through the door. I am so not staying there ever again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shreveport

Not as Advertised

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: every thing giving my experience.
The first issue upon checking in was the facility was having construction works so it wasn't clean. Secondly, upon getting my room, the showers didn't work and the bath tub water took forever to fill the tub. Thirdly, upon going to sleep the bed mattress was not comfortable at all. I called for extra pillows and was told that they didn't have any. The advertisement said free breakfast, well the next morning went down for breakfast and they said due to the construction they only had coffee. So but I will not stay there again!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok. Kind of old and outdated.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
It was good for the night. Nothing special. Kind of dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Efficiency good Early finish breakfast : bad Good location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Horseshoe Bend, AR

Several scratches and a sore back later

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Location and the front desk was polite
Cons: Close the wing you are working on we had a four year old with us and all of the clutter could have caused her to be severely hurt.
They are remodeling the entire motel. So when we got off the elevator the walls were lined with debris and mattresses and furniture. Trying to make our way down the hall we ran into several carpet tack strips and cut our leg. The continental breakfeast provided no butter for the waffles and there was only a handful of muffins out. The shower had zero water pressure and the beds were uncomfortable. The room was very small and the wifi was shotty at best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
My room # was 208 and no shower I checked out and had to go over a friend house and take a shower. I explain to the front desk the problem and someone was suppose to come up that never happened. I went back tried to talk to the manager. I was robbed the only way to make this up is a free room with running water!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dead bug and white stained carpet hotel!!

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
I have never stayed at a Howard Johnson before, so I thought I would try. Price wasn't bad, but it felt too good to be true. AND IT WAS! I arrived to hotel and the entrance was dark, walked in the room and immediately called the desk. There was a dead bug in my toilet, rust in the tub, white stains on the carpet, the Sheetrock was peeling over the window. There was visible dust on the head board. The furniture was so outdated!! The newest thing in the room was a flat screen tv! It was horrible!!! Then the manager was not on site on a Friday!! One of the busiest days for a hotel! I called hotels.com and they informed me that the manager said that he will not refund my money because I stayed a couple of hours and then left. Even though I didn't even stay in the room 15 mins!!! They have a handwritten sign in a sharpie marker that says NO REFUND!! Which immediately raised red flags!! Overall, these people are crooks!!!! DO NOT STAY AT THE HOWARD JOHNSON IN SHREVEPORT LA!!! I am not saying that all Howard Johnson hotels are like this but this one is definitely a crooked operation!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at your own risk

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
I reserved the room for family in town for Thanksgiving. The lady at the desk did not have a very welcoming attitude. Very gruff. There are other guests who were having issues with their own room and she was rude to them as well. My family member happened to bring an extra TV with him to give to other members in Shreveport. When he was loading it up for them, he was accused of stealing hotel property, even though his TV was a different brand (the hotel had LG and he had a Samsung). No apology was given for the mixup. I've stayed at this location many times, but will not return again with the current management in place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Needs to be remodeled

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Mold in bathroom..stains on carpet..housekeeping only changed towels..If you stay over 1 day no room clean up and no bed made up..knats in room..Nothing much for breakfast..rotten bananas, spoiled milk..cold coffee....Hotel needs a complete remodeling