Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Neglected Dirty Rooms but Friendly Staff

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there for 3 nights for a basketball tournament. The room was very dirty when we got there. Very dusty, cobwebs in the corners, smoke detector wires were cut and the smoke detector was laying in the window sill. The carpet coming up in places and was so dirty that it would make your socks black to walk on them. Overall a pretty gross room. The staff was nice but clearly with the level of room cleanliness it's not something that ownership cares about. I think they must usually just have guys staying there who are in town for work, construction crews, etc. We did not bother telling staff anything about the dirty conditions because our friends room was also just like ours. The stuff that was dirty was the result of months of neglect not just a housekeeper taking a shortcut or forgetting something. I just don't think we are the customers this place normally hosts. The staff was very nice to us, even accommodating a very late check out. I think we were just a mismatch for their motel.
1 out of 5
by Robert from Houston


Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
I am a regular user of Hotels.com and for the most part the service has been good to me until this trip. I was driving to Shreveport from Houston for the Holidays and was getting tired so I looked for hotels in Carthage so I could still arrive early the next morning since it's and hour away. We get there at just before midnight and the door is locked, nobody is behind the glass window and after calling the phone number and getting no answer countless times I finally called hotels.com who tried to call them and also got no answer. Then hotels.com tells me it'll be 3 days for a refund. I guess if you're not there before the owners go to sleep or you somehow lock yourself out of your room late it's going to be a long night. We stayed next door (comfort inn) for roughly the same rate and someone is actually at the front desk 24/7.
4 out of 5
by Lissa from Wallis

Okay property will use again

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
This was our second stay at this property the main reason we stay here is because of price and it's close to our family. The room key had to be updated every time we used it. The carpets needed to be cleaned. But for the price it was good. Breakfast was good and service was good.
4 out of 5
by Kaycee from Rockport, TX

Good place to stay.

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
We just stayed for one night, but it was nice. The hotel was not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. The bedding was clean and the room did not have any disrepair. Good Parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
No breakfast a promised. Hair on shower wall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tx

Decent for the price.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
None of the hotels close by are are close to places to eat. Not a bad place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CV, TX

Overnight stay

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Convenience to to our destination.
Cons: Attention to detail toward the customer in room preparations. Better trained cleaning staff.
Location: Texas Country Music Hall of Fame is located in Carthage.
Check in to our original room went well, but maintenance was working on it so we were moved. Found a used washrag on the floor. There wasn't a TV listing of channels in room. Bathroom had a smell to it and we left the vent fan on the entire time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Problem free problem

Posted Nov 15, 2015
I was willing to overlook clerk who seemed to know little, the first room I was sent too w/tv on, beds unmade, the second room in which clerk broke a fluorescent bulb and left me w/glass all over carpet (my dog would get glass in feet), the third which clerk had to bring remote and fix a/c...but when a large mouse climbed into my leftover salad 2 feet from me I WAS DONE! I packed up, asked for money back and left with management's apologies following me out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carthage

Nice Stay

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: We felt secure and the room was clean.
Cons: Better breakfast variety but what was available was good.
We stayed here on our way to a football game. Our experience was good from when we arrived until we left.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Best price I could find.

Posted Nov 5, 2015
The hotel staff is only on duty from 6am-8pm. When I got there no one had been there to open and I had to wait for the next person to showed up to check in. The lady that checked me in was wonderful I have to say. Dryer I used was broken but since it was after 8pm there was no one for me to tell. The room was one of the best I've ever stayed in. I wish there had been more tv stations.