Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Pleasant experience and setting

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Overall our stay was pleasant. Clean, good food and lovely surroundings. The spa treatments were the only area whereby the girls would recommend improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Nice stay, lovely surroundings , staff nice I would go again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel &surroundings

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Had a great stay, hotel is a short taxi ride from the centre of Shrewsbury. Staff are friendly and great hearty breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Off the beaten track.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The food.
Cons: Directions through the inside, to save going out the rain to the Parkside rooms.
Location: Near Shrewsbury and a civil war battlefield.
Good food, good surroundings, generally most satisfactory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice hotel in pleasant surroundings

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: It's character and rural location
Cons: More drawer space for clothes; room numbers visible on the outside (Master's house); Air conditioning (openable windows on GF not secure)
Location: Easy access to historic Shrewsbury using P & R; good selection of shops & eateries; good train service; base to explore surrounding area
Enjoyed our three nights' stay. Clean, good sized room and bathroom. Staff helpful and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Relaxing surroundings

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: the oldie worldie appearance, very tastefully decorated and the peace and tranquility. Excellent facilities
Location: Great walking country for those who love the great outdoors. Shrewsbury lovely and plenty of historical days out for those who want it.
Lovely countryside hotel retreat with excellent facilities for a relaxing couple of days from home. Short distance to the lovely town of Shrewsbury. Staff very helpful, room large and comfortable. Hotel set in beautiful gardens - lovely to sit out,with a Pimms and take in the peace and quiet. Excellent evening meal in restaurant, cooked to a very high standard.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Shewsbury

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel has an excellent spa and gym. Hotel rooms could do with a bit of upgrading, but beds comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wedding anniversary

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
fabulous
4 out of 5
by RJ

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel; lovely room, not a very extensive menu; particularly for vegetarian meals. Staff helpful; nice spa area spoilt by small pool and broken sauna
2 out of 5
by Carol

Disappointed

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
I booked my colleagues into the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa over 2 weeks prior to their date of arrival. When they arrived at the hotel they were advised that the hotel was overbooked and they had booked them into an alternative hotel. I think it would of been courteous of the hotel to inform me of this change before my colleagues turned up at the hotel. Very disappointed