Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good central location, disappointing facilities

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Spacious lounges and dining room. Location in a pretty side street. Good service at breakfast.
Cons: The furnishings and decoration. Some windows don't open. Full double glazing needed on street side.
Location: Excellent for shopping, restaurants and coffee shops. Pleasant walk to the river.
Staff friendly. Bathrooms and beds good, but the interior was otherwise worn and needing updating. Breakfast was excellent. On Saturday night there was very noisy music which went on until midnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena California

In the middle of town

Posted Jul 29, 2017
When we checked in our hotel, we were offered a glass of sherry . Comfortable room and dining room had wonderful breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertsfordshire

In a good position, a very tired hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The staff and the position.
Cons: All the facilities could and should be improved. Rate paid is unjustified.
Location: It is in the middle of town, with many bars, cafes immediately closeby.
Good position, but do not go by car as to find and park is very difficult. We had possibly the worst room in the hotel, maybe deserving one star, not four. A lot of money needed to bring it up to that standard. After complaining, changed to a slightly better one. Bathroom tiny and quite dated. Staff tries hard and obliging. Breakfast the other good point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautifully located hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Terrific location.
Cons: The bedroom was comfortable and smart, but there was slightly too much furniture for the available floor space, so it was hard to get round the beds.
I had a stroke about a year ago, and since then walking has been a bit of a problem for me. So my wife and I wanted a hotel that would allow us to walk everywhere in Shrewsbury if we wanted. The Prince Rupert was perfect for this, being bang in the middle of town, but on top of that, it turned out to be a real find. The staff are delightful, the place smart and clean and comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. We had a lovely weekend, and we will be back as soon as we can organise it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Very good hotel and service breakfast was excellent have booked again next year with an extra day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in the city centre

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: the room rates could be a little better, have stayed in B&B's which are a lot better
hotel is in the city centre, the room is over priced and a little noisy from the fan outside, breakfast was ok but was a little on the small side
5 out of 5
by Anne

Well worth a visit.

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel, ideally situated to wander around the town. The valet parking in the hotel's private car park, means you don't have to worry about having to renew the ticket in a public one daily. The breakfasts were lovely with the main part being freshly cooked. The dining room was magnificent! The room was nice although I would have liked the water for the shower to have been hotter. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Nice hotel near the town centre

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Staff looked after us and we're very helpful, only problem is it is difficult to find through narrow streets,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff made this a very pleasant stay. The location was fantastic and the common areas were very well appointed. The bedroom had a great view, though the fittings were somewhat dated, especially in the bathroom. Heating was adequate, but the sound-proofing could be improved. Breakfast was excellent