Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Best location in Shrewsbury

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location and obliging staff.We were put in a "quiet" room as requested, and offered sherry on arrival.
Cons: Decor and refurbishment of certain bedrooms/ bathrooms.
Location: Great shopping in a friendly, not ovet busy town. Plenty of walks and parkland, plenty of restaurants, historic buildings. Lovely area.
Perfect location for exploring or shopping in Shrewsbury. The reception, lounge and dining room , including staff, are all faultless, even if the furnitue is dated by today's standards. So, first impressions are good! However, our bedroom and en suite badly needed to be redecorated and refurbished. Plaster had been knocked off in places and painted over with a different coloured paint. The bedroom was really dark and gloomy and the bathroom dated, though it did have both a shower and a bath. Whilst the bedding was clean, the matress was too hard for our liking and pillows too "flat" and thin. While we appreciate the age of the building and its quirkiness, we feel if people pay good money to stay over, then they expect a certain degree of comfort. The age of the building is not an excuse for 2nd rate standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Nov 16, 2017
nice hotel staff very good , only thing the room was to warm, and if you opened the window , you had the noise from the pubs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett WA

Hiding Prince Rupert

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The place drips of history and the staff are very friendly and efficient.
Cons: Not much
Location: A plethora of shops and restaurants within walking distance
SAT navs do not take you to the entrance but once you find Fish St you have it made. Lovely lobby, lounge and restaurant. It’s a two person lift but it beats the stairs. The halls exude history and each footstep sounds of the creaking wood beneath the carpet. If there are ghosts living in Shrewsbury this would be an ideal home for them. The twin bed room was nice and the marble bathroom with its half sphere wash basin was exquisite. Overall a very pleasant experience with excellent food in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bromley

Good Hotel at the centre of town

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great welcome - excellent breakfast and efficent and friendly staff. Ideally situated in the centre of town and close to the station. Very pleasant walks around the river and superb history and architecture. Plenty of interesting shops and places to eat. The Prince Rupert is a comfortable place to enjoy all of this, with a good bar and great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Traditional hotel in the centre of Shrewsbury

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The central location,comfortable room,and a good breakfast.
Cons: Better wi fi and, herhaps, a slightly wider choice at breakfast.
Location: The location is ideal for a walking exploration of Shrewsbury. Two major attractions without easy reach are the Quarry Park and Shrewsbury prison.
A warm welcome from very helpful staff. The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Shrewsbury within easy walking distance of the wide range shops and restaurants in central Shrewsbury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Heart of Shrewsbury

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The convenience for the center of town.
Location: Shrewsbury is famous for its medieval abbey, churches and half-timbered buildings and its good restaurants.
The Prince Rupert is a pleasant hotel situated in the center of Shrewsbury. It is convenient for both restaurants and shopping being less than 2 minutes walk from the main pedestrian precinct. The staff are welcoming and helpful but if arriving in the morning you cannot normally gain access to your room until mid-afternoon. Normal checkout is by 1100. If arriving by car you need to read the directions posted on the hotel website with care; there is no parking available by the hotel, but the hotel will provide valet parking at a cost of £8 per night which is reasonable compared to the carpark charges in Shrewsbury. The rooms are comfortable - although those at the rear of the hotel overlook the beer garden of an adjacent public house and the noise can be quite intrusive. Rooms contain courtesy tea making equipment and televisions but there is no Wi-Fi or internet connectivity. For couples looking for a short break and the opportunity to enjoy one of England's best medieval towns it is a comfortable and central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Full of character.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Character and food.
Location: Joins on to the pedestrian mall.
We loved this hotel - after we eventually found it. We spent ages looking and in the end had to ask for detailed directions as the sat. nav must have thought the road was pedestrian only. The staff park your car as it would be a nightmare otherwise. Our room had a four poster bed and overlooked old buildings, which is a novelty for Australians. After one of our photos showed a ghostly face at a window the owner arranged for us to see over the haunted parts of the hotel. (It's been on Great British Ghosts). The food at this hotel is outstanding. The breakfast is top class but the restaurant at night was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

A Pleasant Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Good food and helpful staff
Cons: Provide a map of how to get there.
Location: Lots of handy shops. Good regimental museum.
Room was good, staff were very accommodating, food was very good,
5 out of 5
by Darren

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was a pleasure to stay in luxury at a very reasonable price. The service was fantastic and the breakfast was good. Made to feel very comfortable and relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Lovely staff, lovely view of the old town.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel is old, but you should be expecting that, in the heart of a medieval town. We were greeted immediately upon arrival, and offered sherry. Check in was smooth, and our room (double twin) was quite spacious. The breakfasts were amazing, and they catered to my travelling companions gluten intolerance. We walked from the train station (about 12 minutes), so I cannot speak about the parking. We could hear people outside talking at the nearby outside dining area, but it stopped about midnight. There were garbage trucks around 7 in the morning, but, they weren't terribly loud, at least not from where I was staying.