Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central quaint comfortable

Posted Sep 30, 2017
More gluten free dinner options than been offered before for dinner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, Cambs, UK

Wonderful and Welcoming

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Good central position in the town. No dedicated parking, but plenty of spaces nearby. Very old building with history. Modernised, clean.
Cons: My room was on third floor and I found the stairs hard going!
Location: Central, yet quiet. Easy access to sights, shops, restaurants, bars, churches!
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - nothing was too much bother. Especially good experience with Michael/Mike, who was very kind. I felt welcomed, safe and comfortable at all times. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for it's solid value, no frills, cleanliness, fresh bedding and terrific breakfast! Bang in the middle of town, it remained a quiet and comfortable place to spend the night. I occupied a spacious twin bedded room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Under expectations

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Top floor room excellent TV but would not switch off. Shower not fit for purpose and could not take a proper shower. Bed and sleep good. Beer was flat. In morning had slept well but water pressure poor and still no shower fixed so did not bother. Location excellent Breakfast lacked some touches - no fruit, full English ok but served in a bowled dish! Understaffed but that's everywhere now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester uk

Interesting!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Ok... its not the Ritz but it's not Bates' motel either!.. its a basic, quirky hotel that ticks all the boxes for the room rate! My only reservation (sic) would be the lack of on site parking! They (owners web site) say there is parking near by but it's pushing the envelope a bit with that! The nearest NCP secure park is about 10mins walk up a steep hill, no biggie if you're fit and not carrying bags in the rain...but if you are...oh oh! The parking charge overnight mid week is £10.. hmmmm! You get reception and the public bar together. ..but the staff are friendly and helpful! Breakfast included was great, fresh and generous portions. ..really nice start to the day! If you're looking at staying in the town for a couple of days. ... totally recommend this! .. just don't expect the Ritz and cut them some slack!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Latics on tour

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Its a very nice hotel very clean and breakfast was good.Its also in a great location.I will be staying here again when i visit shrewsbury 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well placed in centre of town

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Central position in town.
Cons: Allow 8.00am breakfast at weekend
I was disappointed by the fact that I couldn't get breakfast until after 9 o'clock on Saturday as I had to catch a bus at 9.15 and therefore could not take breakfast. There was also loud thrubbing music till about 11.30 on Friday night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I was pleasently surprised at the friendliness of the staff and the excellent breakfast we received. Nothing seems too much for anyone. At such a reasonable price I did not expect such courtesy and helpfulness. Will certainly reecommend to friends and return myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pleasant room, with lovely ensuite in the heart of beautiful Shrewsbury. Reasonable price and a lovely cooked breakfast! Recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The Old Post Office is conveniently located ten minutes from the train station and close to shopping, restaurants and local attractions. The room was clean and comfortable, and staff friendly and helpful. Wifi reception in the room was spotty but the owner resolved the problem immediately by installing a booster. Price for the room was reasonable and included a cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Very flexible and friendly staff, comfy bed and yummy breakfast. Shower was a bit rubbish and the cubicle itself was very small but that was our only complaint. Lovely place, will definitely stay again