Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice getaway

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic host, lovely and quiet area. Would have been nice if the wifi was strong enought to get into my room, plus there is no cell service at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peel, Isle of Man

Warm Wecome ;-)

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay under the most difficult of circumstances, despite this hotelier was very attentive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester kent

Like staying with friends!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Colin & Linda are very hospitable people welcoming you into their beautiful home & grounds more as friends than guests, will definatly return when next in Shrewsbury area.
5 out of 5
by Stuart from Chester

Tranquility!

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it, relaxing country setting.
5 out of 5
by Val from Durham

Perfect

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
If you are looking for a 5* modern state of the art hotel with all mod cons then this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for cosy, home from home accommodation with a comfortable bed, quality bed linen, delicious breakfast and 2 lovely hosts, then look no further. On arrival we were greeted by Colin who was busy in the beautiful garden then handed over to Linda who served up a much welcome offer of a hot drink accompanied by my all time favourite lemon drizzle cake, so fresh it was still warm, and lovely biscuits. Room was clean and comfortable with everything needed to make our 3 night stay perfect. Breakfast is chosen the night before which means there is no waiting around and everything was cooked well and obvious good quality ingredients...deepest yellow free range eggs I have ever seen. Home made jam and marmalade with toast rounded off the breakfast nicely. Linda seemed to be there whenever we entered the house, making sure we had everything we needed, along with great tips on local pubs and restaurants. Oh and who could forget the adorable Felix, a little ginger bobtail cat who wags his tail when he is happy!! Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very enjoyable stay, hospertality next to none

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
excellent
5 out of 5
by Samuel from Manchester

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed overnight for a wedding at Rowton Castle. Bit far away at 6 miles, but more than made up for by having very helpful hosts Colin and Linda, a clean and comfortable family room and a first class breakfast. Linda's blackcurrant jam is also recommended as going down well at our breakfast table!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Barley Mow House is situated in stunning countryside. We were made very welcome and our room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Henry from Portland, Oregon

Charming country setting

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived late afternoon and was greated by the owner with tea and cake. Barley Mow House a quiet, remote Shropshire farm house filled with books and with an interesting history of having been a pub in the 19th century. It is very comfortable and well located for exploring the area. Would love to return for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

A lovely setting in the country

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: This B&B provides a friendly environment to relax and enjoy the countryside.
Cons: No
Location: Rural setting allows for visits to many country pubs for meals. Shrewsbury provides an enormous number of things to do and all are close.
The house was very well set out and the room very comfortable. Large garden provided many things to see, particularly the fruit garden. Excellent breakfast provided. Owners were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area.