Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The location (felt remote but short drive from town), the food, the staff. Hotel felt secure as only guests could access beyond ground floor.
Cons: As u need a key to go upstairs or up in the lift we should automatically be given a second key.
Location: Location felt remote but was close to town. We did not look for things nearby as we had only one day already planned with a fishing trip.
Hotel was just what we wanted - of a good standard without being snooty. Staff were friendly and efficient. Room was clean and comfortable. Food was excellent (both in the bar and restaurant). On the down side the bathroom was small and awkward. There was a small problem with food late evening although this was resolved quite quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Nice location with good views. Room was very tidy and clean. Bed was comfortable and general hotel atmosphere was relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterlooville

Avoid if you use a wheelchair!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The night manager was as helpful as he could be having just been woken up to face these problems and being limited by a building not really suitable.
Cons: Accessible rooms need to have wide enough doors for entrance & toilet, room to get alongside the bed & room to turn in the room & into the toilet min.
Location: It is quite hard to find and we ended up a few miles away at first attempt (with gps). We were there for a specific event so didn't explore much .
I had called Expedia in advance of booking & the agent called the hotel direct to see if they had any accessible rooms and, if they did, whether there was one such room available for the dates I was looking for. I was told they did & booked. We arrived very late due to a long drive that could only begin when my friend had finished teaching for the day. I am chronically ill, as well as severely disabled, so needed to stop more often than most drivers. Knowing this would make us arrive late, I personally called the hotel to confirm we were coming but would be arriving late. We were reassured it was not a problem. On arrival, however, the night porter/receptionist (whatever his job title was) did not speak good English, was not manning the reception area or answering the entry phone (so it took a while to get his attention to let us in!) and didn't know how much to charge me for the room even though he did seem to know to expect us. He found a note with a scribbled number referencing the payment due! We were then given 2 door keys of the electronic card type and left to find our way. There is not room in this box to fully describe the comedy of€ errors that came after this. It included neither door key working and them being required for corridor doors as well as the room, the room itself was NOT wheelchair accessible at all. Room changed but could only use bathroom with door open. Room cold. Etc. Etc. The night manager tried to help but we nicknamed it Fawlty Towers !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Dodgy overbooking sharp practices and rather tired

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Sharp over-booking practice
Location: The hotel is quite remote so you have to use their facilities, at a premium.
On arrival the hotel denied any knowledge of the Expedia booking and tried to send me to an alternate hotel. Having explained that I had a scheduled meeting with a colleague at the hotel they chose to bounce someone else to that other venue and checked me in to a room that did not match the description on my booking. The hotel was nothing better that a tired travelodge. Restaurant food was not so good but it was quite expensive; breakfast was quite good. Car parking was random and inadequate with vehicles effectively abandoned where their owners felt like it and some had to be left on the roadside. On checkout the staff advised me that I had to pay via Expedia for the room. When I questioned how this would be achieved when they had no record of my booking they confirmed they did actually have the Expedia confirmation and not to worry. I assume the hotel operated an intentional over-booking policy to protect their income against late cancellations. I'd recommend trying somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good food, great location

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
We spent a couple of days at this lovely hotel. The breakfast was good as was the bar food. We could not eat in the restaurant as there was a large coach party of older people staying at the hotel. Unfortunately the weather was not too good this time, as when we stayed last year we enjoyed hiking in the Wrekin. A little disappointed that both of the rooms we booked were not overlooking the garden, as I had specifically phoned a few days before to request this. Generally a great hotel with helpful and friendly staff in a superb location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesn't care about its guests

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was fine until there was a wedding and that's were problem startsas we had to endure hours of disco noise until gone 1.00am in the morning. No mention of this was presented to us and if so we would not have chosen to stay. This is appaling customer service and it amounts to putting 2 fingers up to your paying guests. Our complaints were not handled well as many other guests were in the position!
5 out of 5
by Susan from Chorley

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
What a great hotel. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel was clean. The food was great and the staff were very friendly.
2 out of 5
by Paula from Somerset

Very disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
The room was awful, no opening windows only two skylights, so no view. The welcome was mediocre and not particularly friendly. Bar meal was only passable. The only redeeming thing was breakfast was good. Would we stay here again definitely not.