Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Richard

Not good

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very small water was leaking through the light fitting in the bathroom constantly was going to stay 3 nights only stayed 1
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull, UK

Nice hotel in a spectacular setting

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Great setting - alternative breakfast available in the golf club house.
Cons: Little left of the original stately house, a bit of an empty shell - modernised and comfortable but has lost a lot of character.
Location: Shrewsbury - excellent town. I'm sure the follies are well worth a visit - when they are open.
Comfortable hotel, value for money - pity the follies were closed in November.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best...poor

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
I am glad I only had one night there, the hotel was very tied and in need of a little TLC... What upest me the most was the noise of the people upstairs and next to our bedroom, a real bad night rest. And plus the staff did not ask how we like our say there. Poor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
It was like staying at Faulty towers!!!! The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor. I got locked in the room and it took 10 minutes to break out with a spoon. The fire alarm went off and we were evacuated when I went for my break fast when I asked to be credited for the breakfast the receptionist said i couldn't have a credit as it was only for my safety and I could leave without breakfast if I wanted. No recommendation from me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Keith from Cumbria

Poor hotel,

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Arrive on saturday night, room adjacent to function room with a wedding disco went on till 1 am!!!!!! So too noisey to sleep. Next night woken by noise door banging, thin walls, poor sound insulation. We would not return, plus shower curtain smelling nasty, needs spraying with bleach in bath and rinsing weekly minimum. Otherwise room was small but clean. No air com so room to warm. Receiption staff not interested in customrs. Breakfast very good quality excelent. Outside of building needs lots of TLC, and a full repaint. Lots of rotten windows, ect. This hotel is only of use to those who want to enjoy the lovely golf greens. We wont be back,
4 out of 5
by Claire from Tamworth

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel a little bit dated. The views are beautiful. Buffet breakfast was very good. All staff friendly and very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n

Good for travel around area

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very friendly , good food convient to airpor and Chester zoo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brief stopover en route.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Situation amidst extensive greenery. Quiet. Free wifi throughout, despite what it says on website. Charmingly old-fashioned.
Cons: Needs external redecoration and some refurbishment, which may be in progress.
Location: Excellent Location, extensive grounds and greenery, village nearby.very rural,
A brief stopover. Beautiful situation with extensive grounds (golf courses but also pleasant walking opportunities amidst greenery). Interesting building if in need of a little exterior redecoration.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall OK.

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Was pleasant enough. On the whole staff were friendly. We had an issue with a child under three waking up covered in bites. We saw a doctor to get this diagnosis and although we weren't complaining - just informing - the receptionist insisted we speak to the head of housekeeping who was defensive and made me feel annoyed, frankly. All other staff were lovely.