Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Good for travel around area

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very friendly , good food convient to airpor and Chester zoo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brief stopover en route.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Situation amidst extensive greenery. Quiet. Free wifi throughout, despite what it says on website. Charmingly old-fashioned.
Cons: Needs external redecoration and some refurbishment, which may be in progress.
Location: Excellent Location, extensive grounds and greenery, village nearby.very rural,
A brief stopover. Beautiful situation with extensive grounds (golf courses but also pleasant walking opportunities amidst greenery). Interesting building if in need of a little exterior redecoration.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NORTHANTS

HOTEL SITUATED ON A GOLF COURSE

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: FRIENDLY STAFF,EXCELLENT FOOD,COMFORTABLE ROOM
Cons: THE GENERAL UPKEEP OF THE EXTERIOR NEEDS ATTENTION
Location: NEAR TO SHREWSBURY,TELFORD,IRONBRIDGE, AND OF COURSE THE FOLLIES IN THE HOTEL GROUNDS,NOT TO MENTION THE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE.
EXCELLENT FOOD, VERY COMFORTABLE SUPERIOR ROOM IN MAIN HOTEL BUILDING, EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND ATTENTIVE STAFF
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A refurbished old hotel with a golf course.

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Surroundings.
Cons: Needs a significant revamp if it wants to attract the corporate and business traveller segment.
Location: Golf
Poor road sinage, difficult to find the hotel at night in the dark. WiFi reception was very poor and it stopped working completely. The sink tap was leaking, could hear running water all night. Did not sleep well as the result. In the morning, had planned to check out early for a 9 AM business appointment. The breakfast serving started at 7.30 AM. When I got there at 7.40 AM, only to find that a coach load of golfers had decended at 7.30 AM because they were all in a queue for the early morning Golfing tee times.As the result of the stampede by the golfers, all the breakfast stations were empty when i got there. I had to wait until 8.15 when the breakfast station refills arrived. By the time I finished my breakfast, it was nearly 8.45 AM. Needless to say that I had to postpone my 9 AM business meeting. I wasted an entire day because of the delay.
5 out of 5
by Isobel from Kirkintilloch

a lovely break

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
an error was made re initionally getting room requested ie disabled access. Despite being full the receptionist on duty (Kat) plus the duty manager were diligent in their quest to rectify this which they did. We were also given a complimentary evening meal. All the staff were pleasant friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The food was very good. The surrounding countryside was lovely. Highly recommended
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for golfers

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel very dated,ideal for golfers as they have 3 big golf courses. Stayed here for a football weekend with my husband and son. Booked for 3 adults, but when we arrived room had not be made up for 3 people. However was put right once we mentioned this to staff. Toilet did not flush again put right by staff and also telephone in room was disconnected. All staff were very helpful. If you stay here you will need to get a taxi anywhere you go costing anything from £10 to £25 as there is nothing around the vacinity of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Birkenhead

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Two night mini-break.
5 out of 5
by Gavin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Martyn from Somerset

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very good service from helpful staff, quiet location. Didn't have chance to try out Wi-Fi speed/availability.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels